2016 No. 1140

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The City of Birmingham (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Made - - - - 23rd November 2016

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) ("the Commission") published a report dated September 2016 stating its recommendation for changes to the electoral arrangements for the City of Birmingham. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament, a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the City of Birmingham (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 16 October 2017;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(c) in 2018.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the City of Birmingham (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

⁽a) 2009 c.20.

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽c) The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).

Wards of the City of Birmingham and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the City of Birmingham are abolished.
- (2) The City of Birmingham is divided into 69 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parish of Sutton Coldfield and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Sutton Coldfield are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Sutton Coldfield is divided into eight parish wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Article 3

Date 23rd November 2016

SCHEDULE 1 Names of city wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of city ward	Number of councillors	
Acocks Green	2	
Allens Cross	1	
Alum Rock	2	
Aston	2	
Balsall Heath West	1	
Bartley Green	2	
Billesley	2	

D:1-C:-14	1
Birchfield	1
Bordesley & Highgate	1
Bordesley Green	1
Bournbrook & Selly Park	2
Bournville & Cotteridge	2
Brandwood & King's Heath	2
Bromford & Hodge Hill	2
Castle Vale	1
Druids Heath & Monyhull	1
Edgbaston	2
Erdington	2
Frankley Great Park	1
Garretts Green	1
Glebe Farm & Tile Cross	2
Gravelly Hill	1
Hall Green North	2
Hall Green South	1
Handsworth	1
Handsworth Wood	2
Harborne	2
Heartlands	1
Highter's Heath	1
Holyhead	1
King's Norton North	1
King's Norton South	1
Kingstanding	2
Ladywood	2
Longbridge & West Heath	2
Lozells	1
Moseley	2
Nechells	1
Newtown	1
North Edgbaston	2
Northfield	1
Oscott	2
Perry Barr	2
Perry Common	1
Pype Hayes	1
Quinton	2
Rubery & Rednal	1
Shard End	1
Sheldon	2
Small Heath	2
Soho & Jewellery Quarter	2
South Yardley	1
Sparkbrook & Balsall Heath East	2
Sparkhill	2
Stirchley	1
Stockland Green	2
Sutton Four Oaks	1
Sutton Mere Green	1
Sutton Reddicap	1
Sutton Roughley	1

Sutton Trinity	1	
Sutton Vesey	2	
Sutton Walmley & Minworth	2	
Sutton Wylde Green	1	
Tyseley & Hay Mills	1	
Ward End	1	
Weoley & Selly Oak	2	
Yardley East	1	
Yardley West & Stechford	1	

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Wards of the parish of Sutton Coldfield

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Four Oaks	2
Mere Green	2
Reddicap	2
Roughley	3
Trinity	3
Vesey	5
Walmley & Minworth	5
Wylde Green	2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the City of Birmingham following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the city remains unchanged. The electoral changes in articles 3 and 4 apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the City of Birmingham and replaces them with 69 new ones. That article together with the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names, areas and number of councillors, of the new wards.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Sutton Coldfield and replaces them with eight new ones. That article together with the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map shows the areas of the new city and parish wards and is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/west-midlands/west-midlands/birmingham It is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Oueen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

[©] Crown copyright 2016

158N 978-0-11-115171-6

£4.25

UK201611231001 11/2016 19585

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2016/1140