### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 2015 No. 573

## HARBOURS, DOCKS, PIERS AND FERRIES

# The Harbour Directions (Designation of Harbour Authorities) Order 2015

Made - - - - 5th March 2015
Laid before Parliament 9th March 2015
Coming into force - - 6th April 2015

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 40A(4)(b) of the Harbours Act 1964(1), makes the following Order.

### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Harbour Directions (Designation of Harbour Authorities) Order 2015.
  - (2) This Order comes into force on 6th April 2015.

### **Designation**

**2.** The harbour authority for each harbour described in the Schedule is a designated harbour authority for the purpose of harbour directions.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport

John Hayes
Minister of State
Department for Transport

5th March 2015

**SCHEDULE** Article 2

- 1. Cattewater Harbour, being the harbour within the limits described in section 17 (limits of harbour) of the Cattewater Harbour Order 1915(2).
- 2. Chichester Harbour, being the area described in section 82 (limits of harbour) of the Chichester Harbour Conservancy Act 1971(3) as lying within the outer edge of the line coloured red on the signed plan as defined in section 3(1) of that Act.
- 3. Crouch Harbour, being the area described in section 63 (limits of harbour) of the Crouch Harbour Act 1974(4).
- 4. Dart Harbour, being the harbour the limits of which are described in section 38 (limits of jurisdiction) of the Dart Harbour and Navigation Authority Act 1975(5).
- 5. Falmouth Docks, being the area within the limits described in, and subject to the proviso in, section 24 (limits) of the Falmouth Docks Act 1959(6).
- 6. Falmouth Harbour, being the harbour as defined in section 4 (interpretation) of the Falmouth Harbour Act 1958(7) and by reference to the limits in section 5 (limits) of that Act.
- 7. Fowey Harbour, being the area within the limits described in section 22 (limits of order) of the Fowey Harbour Order 1937 and mentioned in section 3 (interpretation) of that Order, which was scheduled to and confirmed by the Pier and Harbour Order (Fowey) Confirmation Act 1937(8).
- **8.** Heysham Harbour, being the area within the limits described in section 46 (limits of harbour) of the North-western Railway Act 1852(9).
- 9. Mostyn Docks Harbour, being the area described in article 4 (limits of jurisdiction) of the Mostyn Docks Harbour Empowerment Order 1988(10).
- 10. Salcombe Harbour, being the area described in section 11 (limits of the harbour) of the Salcombe Harbour Order 1954 and mentioned in section 3 (interpretation) of that Order, which was scheduled to and confirmed by the Pier and Harbour Order (Salcombe) Confirmation Act 1954 (11).
- 11. The Harbour of Sutton Pool in the port of Plymouth, being the harbour defined in section 4 (interpretation of act) of the Sutton Harbour Act 1847(12).

<sup>(2) 1915</sup> c.xcix. The limits were amended by article 23 of the Cattewater Harbour Order 1950 c.xxxvi. and by section 29(3) of the Plymouth Marine Events Base Act 1985 c.xxv.

<sup>(3) 1971</sup> c.lxx.

<sup>(4) 1974</sup> c.xxxv.(5) 1975 c.xxii.

<sup>(6) 1959</sup> c.xl.

<sup>(7) 1958</sup> c.xlvi, as amended by article 4 of the Falmouth Harbour Revision Order 1985 (S.I. 1985/1678) and article 3 of the Falmouth Harbour Revision Order 1991 (S.I. 1991/1853).

<sup>(8) 1937</sup> c lxxii

<sup>(9) 1852</sup> c.cxxxv. The amendment of section 46 by the Sealink (Transfer of Heysham Harbour) Harbour Revision Order 1991 S.I.1991/1258 did not affect the limits.

<sup>(10)</sup> S.I. 1988/1677.

<sup>(11) 1954</sup> c.xxxiv.

<sup>(12) 1847</sup> c.ccxcvii.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates the harbour authorities for the harbours described in the Schedule as authorities which may give harbour directions in respect of ships in accordance with sections 40A to 40D of the Harbours Act 1964.

In this Order, those harbours are Cattewater Harbour, Crouch Harbour, Dart Harbour, Famouth Docks, Falmouth Harbour, Fowey harbour, Heysham Harbour, Mostyn Docks Harbour, Salcombe Harbour and the harbour of Sutton Pool in the port of Plymouth.

The harbour directions which may be given by designated harbour authorities for the regulation of ships within their harbours relate to their movement, mooring, equipment and manning.

A full impact assessment of the effect this instrument will have on the costs of business and the voluntary sector is published with the Explanatory Memorandum alongside this instrument on www.legislation.gov.uk .