STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2015 No. 2034

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Stroud (Electoral Changes) Order 2015

Made - - - - 11th December 2015

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) ("the Commission") published a report dated June 2015 stating its recommendation for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Stroud. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Stroud (Electoral Changes) Order 2015.
- (2) This article and article 2 of this Order come into force on the day after this Order is made.
- (3) The remainder of this Order come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(c) in 2016.

Interpretation

2. In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Stroud (Electoral Changes) Order 2015", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

Wards of the district of Stroud and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Stroud are abolished.
- (2) The district of Stroud is divided into 27 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

⁽a) 2009 c.20.

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽c) The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 c.2.

- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Cam and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Cam are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Cam is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Stonehouse and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Stonehouse are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Stonehouse is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Stroud Town and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Stroud Town are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Stroud Town is divided into six parish wards as listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Wotton-under-Edge and number of councillors

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Wotton-under-Edge are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Wotton-under-Edge is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 4 in Schedule 2.



Date 11th December 2015

Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE 1 Article 3 Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Amberley and Woodchester	1	
Berkeley Vale	3	
Bisley	1	
Cainscross	3	
Cam East	2	
Cam West	2	
Chalford	3	
Coaley & Uley	1	
Dursley	3	
Hardwicke	3	
Kingswood	1	
Minchinhampton	2	
Nailsworth	3	
Painswick & Upton	3	
Randwick, Whiteshill & Ruscombe	1	
Rodborough	2	
Severn	2	
Stonehouse	3	
Stroud Central	1	
Stroud Farmhill & Paganhill	1	
Stroud Slade	1	
Stroud Trinity	1	

Stroud Uplands	1	
Stroud Valley	1	
The Stanleys	2	
Thrupp	1	
Wotton-under-Edge	3	

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4 to 7

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1
Wards of the parish of Cam

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Cam East	7
Cam West	9

Table 2

Wards of the parish of Stonehouse

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Stonehouse	13
Ebley	1

Table 3

Wards of the parish of Stroud Town

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Stroud Central	3
Stroud Farmhill & Paganhill	3
Stroud Slade	3
Stroud Trinity	3
Stroud Uplands	3
Stroud Valley	3

Table 4

Wards of the parish of Wotton-under-Edge

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Wotton-under-Edge	12
Wotton-under-Edge South	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Stroud following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Stroud and replaces them with 27 new ones. That article and the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

Articles 4 to 7 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Cam, (ii) Stonehouse, (iii) Stroud Town and (iv) Wotton-under-Edge respectively and replace them with new ones. Those articles and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/gloucestershire/stroud and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

© Crown copyright 2015

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

ISBN 978-0-11-114211-0

£4.25

UK201512141002 12/2015 19585

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2015/2034