STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2014 No. 3059

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The South Hams (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - 5th November 2014 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated February 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of South Hams. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

#### **Citation and commencement**

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Hams (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Hams (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

#### Wards of the district of South Hams and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of South Hams are abolished.

(2) The district of South Hams is divided into 20 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Berry Pomeroy and number of councillors

**4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Berry Pomeroy are abolished.

- (2) The parish of Berry Pomeroy is divided into two parish wards named respectively—
  - (a) Bridgetown;
  - (b) Village.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (4) Four councillors are to be elected for Bridgetown parish ward.
- (5) Three councillors are to be elected for Village parish ward.

#### Wards of the parish of Bickleigh and number of councillors

5.—(1) The parish of Bickleigh is divided into two parish wards named respectively—

- (a) Bickleigh;
- (b) Woolwell.

(2) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (3) Two councillors are to be elected for Bickleigh parish ward.
- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Woolwell parish ward.

#### Wards of the parish of Ivybridge and number of councillors

6.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Ivybridge are abolished.

(2) The parish of Ivybridge is divided into two parish wards named respectively—

- (a) Ivybridge East;
- (b) Ivybridge West.

<sup>(3) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) Eight councillors are to be elected for each parish ward.

### Wards of the parish of Ugborough and number of councillors

7.—(1) The parish of Ugborough is divided into two parish wards named respectively—

- (a) Ugborough East;
- (b) Ugborough West.

(2) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (3) Ten councillors are to be elected for Ugborough East parish ward.
- (4) One councillor is to be elected for Ugborough West parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 5th day of November 2014



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

5th November 2014

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

#### SCHEDULE

Article 3

## Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Allington & Strete	1	
Bickleigh & Cornwood	1	
Blackawton & Stoke Fleming	1	
Charterlands	1	
Dartington & Staverton	1	
Dartmouth & East Dart	3	
Ermington & Ugborough	1	
Ivybridge East	2	
Ivybridge West	2	
Kingsbridge	2	
Loddiswell & Aveton Gifford	1	
Marldon & Littlehempston	1	
Newton & Yealmpton	2	
Salcombe & Thurlestone	2	
South Brent	2	
Stokenham	1	
Totnes	3	
Wembury & Brixton	2	
West Dart	1	
Woolwell	1	

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

### (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of South Hams following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of South Hams and replaces them with 20 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Articles 4 and 6 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of Berry Pomery and Ivybridge and replace them with new ones. Articles 5 and 7 create new wards of the parishes of Bickleigh and Ugborough, which were formerly unwarded. Those articles and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/devon/south-hams-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of South Hams District Council, and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 - 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.