#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2013 No. 70

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Tonbridge and Malling (Electoral Changes) Order 2013

Made - - - - 16th January 2013

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated October 2012 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district(3) of Tonbridge and Malling. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

#### **Citation and Commencement**

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Tonbridge and Malling (Electoral Changes) Order 2013.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 1st October 2014;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Tonbridge and Malling (Electoral Changes) Order 2013", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

<sup>(3)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Tonbridge and Malling has the status of a borough.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(4).

#### Wards of the district of Tonbridge and Malling and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Tonbridge and Malling are abolished.
- (2) The district is divided into 24 wards, each listed by name in the first column of the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographic feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Aylesford and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Aylesford are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Aylesford is divided into five wards named respectively—
  - (a) Aylesford North;
  - (b) Aylesford South;
  - (c) Blue Bell Hill;
  - (d) Eccles;
  - (e) Walderslade.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Two councillors are to be elected for each of Aylesford North ward and Blue Bell Hill ward.
- (5) Eight councillors are to be elected for Aylesford South ward.
- (6) Three councillors are to be elected for Eccles ward.
- (7) Five councillors are to be elected for Walderslade ward.

#### Wards of the parish of East Malling and Larkfield and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of East Malling and Larkfield are abolished.
- (2) The parish of East Malling and Larkfield is divided into three wards named respectively—
  - (a) East Malling;
  - (b) Larkfield North;
  - (c) Larkfield South.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for each of East Malling ward and Larkfield North ward.
- (5) Five councillors are to be elected for Larkfield South ward.

#### Wards of the parish of Ryarsh and number of councillors

**6.**—(1) The parish of Ryarsh is divided into two wards named respectively—

<sup>(4) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

- (a) Leybourne Grange;
- (b) Ryarsh Village.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) One councillor is to be elected for Leybourne Grange ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Ryarsh Village ward.

#### Wards of the parish of Snodland and number of councillors

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Snodland are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Snodland is divided into two wards named respectively—
  - (a) Snodland East and Ham Hill;
  - (b) Snodland West and Holborough Lakes.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Snodland East and Ham Hill ward.
- (5) Nine councillors are to be elected for Snodland West and Holborough Lakes ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 16th day of January 2013



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

16th January 2013

# SCHEDULE Article 3

### Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Aylesford North and Walderslade	3
Aylesford South	2
Borough Green and Long Mill	3
Burham and Wouldham	2
Cage Green	2
Castle	2
Ditton	2
Downs and Mereworth	2
East Malling	2
Hadlow and East Peckham	3
Higham	2
Hildenborough	2
Judd	2
Kings Hill	3
Larkfield North	2
Larkfield South	2
Medway	3
Snodland East and Ham Hill	2
Snodland West and Holborough Lakes	3
Trench	2
Vauxhall	2
West Malling and Leybourne	3
Wrotham, Ightham and Stansted	2
Wateringbury	1

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Tonbridge and Malling following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with 24 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

Articles 4, 5 and 7 replace the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Aylesford, (ii) East Malling and Larkfield and (iii) Snodland respectively. Article 6 establishes wards in the parish of Ryarsh, which was formerly unwarded. Those articles and the map establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/kent/tonbridge-and-malling-electoral-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council, Gibson Building, Gibson Drive, Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, ME19 4LZ and at the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.