STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2013 No. 2797

The Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2013

Citation and Commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2013.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2013", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Rushcliffe and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Rushcliffe are abolished.
- (2) The district is divided into 25 wards, each listed by name in the first column of the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographic feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Bingham and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Bingham are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Bingham East;
 - (b) Bingham West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for each of Bingham East ward and Bingham West ward.

^{(1) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Wards of the parish of Holme Pierrepont and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The parish of Holme Pierrepont is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Adbolton;
 - (b) Holme Pierrepont.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) One councillor is to be elected for Adbolton ward.
- (4) Two councillors are to be elected for Holme Pierrepont ward.

Wards of the parish of Langar cum Barnstone and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The parish of Langar cum Barnstone is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Barnstone;
 - (b) Langar.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) Four councillors are to be elected for Barnstone ward.
- (4) Five councillors are to be elected for Langar ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 30th day of October 2013



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

30th October 2013