STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2011 No. 161

The Bedford (Electoral Changes) Order 2011

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Bedford (Electoral Changes) Order 2011.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Bedford (Electoral Changes) Order 2011", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Bedford and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Bedford are abolished.

(2) The district is divided into twenty-seven wards each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in column 2 of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Kempston and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Kempston are abolished.

- (2) The parish is divided into four wards named respectively—
 - (a) Kempston Central and East;
 - (b) Kempston North;
 - (c) Kempston South;

 ¹⁹⁸³ c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

- (d) Kempston West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Kempston Central and East ward.
- (5) Two councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Kempston North;
 - (b) Kempston South;
 - (c) Kempston West.

Wards of the parish of Renhold and number of councillors

- 5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Renhold are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into three wards named respectively—
 - (a) Renhold North;
 - (b) South West;
 - (c) The Spires.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Five councillors are to be elected for Renhold North ward.
- (5) Two councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) South West;
 - (b) The Spires.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 28th day of January 2011



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

28th January 2011