#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2010 No. 998

## The Exeter and Devon (Structural Changes) Order 2010

### PART 2

#### ESTABLISHMENT OF SINGLE TIER LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN EXETER

#### Single tier local government in Exeter

**3.**—(1) On 1st April 2011 Exeter shall cease to form part of the county of Devon.

(2) For the purposes of enactments relating to local government, there shall be a new county, whose area shall be co-terminous with that of Exeter; and the name of that new county shall be Exeter.

(3) In relation to the county of Exeter, section 2(1) of the 1972 Act (which provides that every county shall have a council) shall not apply.

- (4) On and after 1st April 2011 Exeter City Council shall be the sole principal council for Exeter.
- (5) On 1st April 2011—
  - (a) the Exeter county electoral divisions shall cease to exist; and
  - (b) the term of office of the persons who, immediately before that date, are the elected members of Devon County Council for those divisions shall expire.