STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2010 No. 2190

The Kent and Essex Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Order 2010

Membership of the Authority

- **5.**—(1) The Authority is to consist of 21 members.
- (2) Of those 21 members—
 - (a) 9 (the "council members") must be members of relevant councils(1) and must be appointed in accordance with paragraph (3);
 - (b) 10 (the "general members") must be persons appointed by the MMO(2), and must include at least one employee of the MMO; and
 - (c) 2 (the "additional members") must be appointed in accordance with paragraph (4)(3).
- (3) The number of council members to be appointed by each relevant council is as follows—

Relevant council	Number of members
Essex County Council	3
Kent County Council	3
Medway Council	1
Southend on Sea Borough Council	1
Thurrock Council	1

(4) One of the additional members is to be appointed by the Environment Agency and the other is to be appointed by Natural England.

⁽¹⁾ See section 151(1)(a) and (5)(a) and (b) of the Marine Act.

⁽²⁾ See section 151(1)(b), (2) and (5)(a) of the Marine Act.

⁽³⁾ See section 151(1)(c) and (5)(c) of the Marine Act.