STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2009 No. 837

The Local Government (Structural Changes) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Other Provision) Order 2009

PART 2

AMENDMENT OF ORDERS UNDER PART 1 OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT IN HEALTH ACT 2007

Amendment of the Bedfordshire (Structural Changes) Order 2008

- 2.—(1) The Bedfordshire (Structural Changes) Order 2008 is amended as follows.
- (2) In article 16 (duties of shadow authority: executive arrangements, code of conduct and members' allowances), after paragraph (5) insert—
 - "(5A) The persons who, on the coming into force of the Local Government (Structural Changes) (Miscellaneous Amendments and Other Provision) Order 2009, are the members of the shadow executive shall—
 - (a) continue as members of that executive, and
 - (b) on and after 1st April 2009, shall be the members of the Central Bedfordshire Council's executive for the purposes of Part 2 of the Local Government Act 2000,

until the end of the shadow period, notwithstanding the dissolution on that date of the County Council and district councils by which they were nominated.

- (5B) If a member of the executive constituted as mentioned in paragraph (5A)(b) ceases to be a member of that executive before the end of the shadow period, the Central Bedfordshire Council may in accordance with the terms of the constitution of the Council nominate another member of the Council to be a member of its executive.";
- (3) In article 26(1) (cancellation of parish council elections in Bedfordshire in 2008, etc)—
 - (a) after sub-paragraph (a) insert—
 - "(aa) the term of office of those councillors elected in 2004 or at any subsequent election before the 2009 election day for the council of those parishes referred to in sub-paragraph (a) shall end on the fourth day thereafter;";
 - (b) for sub-paragraph (b) substitute—
 - "(b) elections for the return of councillors to the council of the parishes referred to in sub paragraph (a) shall be held on the 2009 election day;";
 - (c) after sub-paragraph (b) insert—
 - "(ba) elections shall not be held in 2010 for the return of councillors to the council of the parishes of Bolnhurst and Keysoe, Caddington, Dean and Shelton, Eaton Bray, Elstow, Harrold, Hyde, Oakley, Odell, Pertenhall and Swineshead, Podington, Riseley, Slip End, Wilshamstead and Wymington;

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(bb) the term of office of those councillors elected in 2006 or at any subsequent election before the 2011 election day for the council of those parishes referred to in subparagraph (ba) shall end on the fourth day thereafter;".