EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the county of Wiltshire following recommendations made by the Boundary Committee for England to the Electoral Commission. The Wiltshire (Structural Change) Order 2008 provides for the establishment, on 1st April 2009, of a single tier of local government in the county of Wiltshire. The area of the county remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral divisions of the county and replaces them with 98 new ones. That article, the map and the Schedule also establish the names and areas of the new county electoral divisions and the numbers of county councillors for each electoral division.

Article 4 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Amesbury and replaces them with two new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 5 establishes two parish wards for the parish of Box. That article and the map also establish the areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 6 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Bradford-on-Avon and replaces them with two new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 7 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Calne and replaces them with four new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 8 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Chippenham and replaces them with eight new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 9 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Corsham and replaces them with five new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 10 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Devizes and replaces them with three new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 11 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Heywood and replaces them with two new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 12 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Marlborough and replaces them with two new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 13 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Melksham and replaces them with three new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 14 alters the number of parish councillors for the parish of Staverton.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 15 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Trowbridge and replaces them with seven new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 16 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Warminster and replaces them with four new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 17 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Westbury and replaces them with three new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 18 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Wootton Bassett and replaces them with three new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new county electoral divisions and parish wards. It is available at www.electoralcommission.org.uk/boundary-reviews/all-reviews/south-west/wiltshire/wiltshire-electoral-review and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of the council of the county of Wiltshire and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.