STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2009 No. 3184

SENIOR COURTS OF ENGLAND AND WALES COUNTY COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2009

Made - - - - 28th November 2009
Laid before Parliament 4th December 2009

Coming into force in accordance with article 1

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 4(2) of the Courts Act 2003(a), and after having consulted the Lord Chief Justice and the affected courts boards as required by section 4(5A) and 4(6) of the 2003 Act, makes the following Order.

Citation and commencement

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2009 and, subject to article 2, comes into force on 1 January 2010.
 - 2. Article 5 and article 3, insofar as it applies to article 5, come into force on 1 April 2010.

Amendments to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004

- **3.** Table 1 (England) in the Schedule to the Courts Board Areas Order 2004(**b**) is amended as follows.
- **4.**—(1) Omit the entries in both columns relating to Avon and Somerset, Devon and Cornwall, Dorset, Gloucester and Wiltshire, and Hampshire and Isle of Wight.
 - (2) Before the entry relating to Bedfordshire, Essex and Hertfordshire insert—

"Avon & Somerset, Devon & Cornwall and	The counties of Devon, Cornwall,
Avon & Somerset, Devon & Comwan and	
Gloucestershire	Gloucestershire and Somerset, and the non-
	metropolitan districts of Bath and North East
	Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Bristol, North
	Somerset, Plymouth, Torbay, and the Isles of
	Scilly".

(3) Before the entry relating to Greater Manchester insert—

⁽a) 2003 c.39. Sub-sections (5A) and (7A) were inserted by paragraph 308 of Part 1 of Schedule 4 to the Constitutional Reform Act (c.4) 2005.

⁽b) S.I. 1192/2004. The Schedule was substituted by article 2 of Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2007 (S.I. 2007/1022).

"Dorset, Hampshire & Isle of Wight, and	The counties of Dorset, Wiltshire, Hampshire
Wiltshire	and Isle of Wight, and the non-metropolitan
	districts of Portsmouth, Southampton,
	Bournemouth, Poole, and Swindon".

- **5.**—(1) Omit the entries in both columns relating to Bedfordshire, Essex and Hertfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk, Kent, Surrey and Sussex and Thames Valley.
- (2) After the entry relating to Avon & Somerset, Devon & Cornwall and Gloucestershire insert—

"Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire and Thames	The counties of Bedfordshire,
Valley	Buckinghamshire, Hertfordshire and
	Oxfordshire and the non-metropolitan districts
	of Bracknell Forest, Luton Milton Keynes,
	Reading, Slough, West Berkshire, Windsor and
	Maidenhead and Wokingham".
(2) A G (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1)	C. C. 11: 1XX .3.6

(3) After the entry relating to Black Country, Staffordshire and West Mercia insert—

"Cambridgeshire, Essex, Norfolk and Suffolk	The counties of Cambridgeshire, Essex,
	Norfolk and Suffolk and the non-metropolitan
	districts of Peterborough, Southend-on-Sea and
	Thurrock".

(4) After the entry relating to Humber and South Yorkshire insert—

"Kent, Surrey and Sussex	The counties of Kent, Surrey, East Sussex and
	West Sussex and the non-metropolitan districts
	of Medway and Brighton and Hove".

By the authority of the Lord Chancellor

Bridget Prentice
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Ministry of Justice

28th November 2009

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, which comes in to force in accordance with article 1, makes amendments to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004 made under section 4(2) of the Courts Act 2003. The amendments reflect changes in boundaries of Courts Board areas, which have been altered in order to align with changes to the administrative areas of Her Majesty's Courts Service.

© Crown copyright 2009

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

2009 No. 3184

SENIOR COURTS OF ENGLAND AND WALES COUNTY COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2009