STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2009 No. 2727

LAND REGISTRATION, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Land Registration (Proper Office) (No. 2) Order 2009

Made - - - - 8th October 2009
Laid before Parliament 13th October 2009
Coming into force - - 11th January 2010

The Lord Chancellor makes the following order in exercise of the power conferred on him by section 100(3) of the Land Registration Act 2002(1).

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Land Registration (Proper Office) (No. 2) Order 2009 and shall come into force on 11 January 2010.

Applications to which this Order applies

- **2.**—(1) This Order applies to any application to the registrar except an application delivered to the registrar—
 - (a) in accordance with a written arrangement as to delivery made between the registrar and the applicant or between the registrar and the applicant's conveyancer, or
 - (b) under the provisions of any relevant notice given under Schedule 2 to the Land Registration Rules 2003(2).
 - (2) In this article "conveyancer" means—
 - (a) a solicitor,
 - (b) a licensed conveyancer within the meaning of section 11(2) of the Administration of Justice Act 1985(3),
 - (c) a fellow of the Institute of Legal Executives,
 - (d) a barrister,
 - (e) a duly certificated notary public, or

^{(1) 2002} c.9

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2003/1417, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

^{(3) 1985} c.61.

(f) a registered European lawyer within the meaning of the European Communities (Lawyer's Practice) Regulations 2000(4) who by virtue of regulations 6 and 12 of those Regulations is entitled to prepare for remuneration an instrument creating or transferring an interest in land in England and Wales.

Designation of the proper office

- **3.**—(1) The proper office for the receipt of an application to which this Order applies is any office of the land registry specified in column 1 of the Schedule which is opposite an administrative area shown in column 2 of the Schedule in which the land to which that application relates is wholly or partly situated.
- (2) In the Schedule, reference to an office of the land registry does not include any sub-office of that office.

Revocation

4. The Land Registration (Proper Office) Order 2009(**5**) is revoked.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

Michael Wills
Minister of State
Ministry of Justice

8th October 2009

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 2000/1119, relevant amending instruments are S.I. 2004/1628, 2008/81.

⁽⁵⁾ S.I. 2009/1393.

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

Column 1	Column 2
Proper office of the land registry	Administrative Area
Land Registry, Birkenhead Office	Cheshire East
	Cheshire West and Chester
	Halton
	Hammersmith and Fulham
	Kensington and Chelsea
	Knowsley District
	Liverpool District
	Sefton District
	St Helens District
	Staffordshire
	City of Stoke-on-Trent
	Warrington
	Wirral District
Land Registry, Coventry Office	Birmingham District
	Coventry District
	Dudley District
	Sandwell District
	Solihull District
	Walsall District
	City of Wolverhampton District
	Worcestershire
Land Registry, Croydon Office	Bexley
	Bromley
	Camden

Column 1	Column 2
Proper office of the land registry	Administrative Area
	Croydon
	Kingston upon Thames
	Merton
	Sutton
	City of Westminster
Land Registry, Durham Office	Cumbria
	Darlington
	County Durham
	Gateshead District
	Hartlepool
	Middlesbrough
	Newcastle upon Tyne District
	North Tyneside District
	North Yorkshire
	Northumberland
	Redcar and Cleveland
	South Tyneside District
	Stockton-on-Tees
	Sunderland District
	Surrey
	York

Land Registry, Fylde Office	Blackburn with Darwen
	Blackpool
	Bolton District
	Bury District

	Lancashire
	Manchester District
	Oldham District
	Rochdale District
	Salford District
	Stockport District
	Tameside District
	Trafford District
	Wigan District
Land Registry, Gloucester Office	Bracknell Forest
	City of Bristol
	Gloucestershire
	Oxfordshire
	Reading
	Slough
	South Gloucestershire
	Warwickshire
	West Berkshire
	Windsor and Maidenhead
	Wokingham
Land Registry, Kingston Upon Hull Office	East Riding of Yorkshire
	City of Kingston upon Hull
	Lincolnshire
	Norfolk
	North East Lincolnshire
	North Lincolnshire
	Suffolk

Land Registry, Leicester Office	Buckinghamshire
	Leicester
	Leicestershire
	Milton Keynes
	Northamptonshire
	Rutland
Land Registry, Nottingham Office	Barnsley District
	Bradford District
	Calderdale District
	City of Derby
	Derbyshire
	Doncaster District
	Kirklees District
	Leeds District
	City of Nottingham
	Nottinghamshire
	Rotherham District
	Sheffield District
	Wakefield District

Land Registry, Peterborough Office	Bedford
	Cambridgeshire
	Central Bedfordshire
	Essex
	Luton
	City of Peterborough
	Southend-on-Sea

	Thurrock
Land Registry, Plymouth Office	Bath & North East Somerset
	Cornwall
	Devon
	Isles of Scilly
	North Somerset
	City of Plymouth
	Sedgemoor
	Taunton Deane
	Torbay
	West Somerset
Land Registry, Portsmouth Office	City of Brighton & Hove
	East Hampshire
	East Sussex
	Havant
	Isle of Wight
	Portsmouth
	West Sussex
Land Registry, Stevenage Office	Barking and Dagenham
	Hackney
	Havering
	Hertfordshire
	The Inner Temple and the Middle Temple
	Islington
	City and County of The City of London
	Newham
	Redbridge

	Tower Hamlets
	Waltham Forest
Land Registry, Telford Office	Greenwich
	County of Herefordshire
	Lambeth
	Lewisham
	Richmond upon Thames
	Shropshire
	Southwark
	Wandsworth
	County of The Wrekin (otherwise known as The Wrekin)

Land Registry, Tunbridge Wells Office	Kent
	Medway
Land Registry, Wales Office	All counties and county boroughs in Wales
Cofrestrfa Tir Swyddfa Cymru	Barnet
	Brent
	Ealing
	Enfield
	Haringey
	Harrow
	Hillingdon
	Hounslow
Land Registry, Weymouth Office	Basingstoke and Deane
	Bournemouth
	Dorset
	Eastleigh
	Fareham

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Gosport
Hart
Mendip
New Forest
Poole
Rushmoor
South Somerset
Southampton
Swindon
Test Valley
Wiltshire
Winchester

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, which comes into force on 11 January 2010, designates particular offices of the land registry as the proper office for the receipt of specified descriptions of application under the Land Registration Act 2002. It replaces the Land Registration (Proper Office) Order 2009.

As a consequence of this Order, on 11 January 2010, the Land Registry's Swansea Office (Cofrestrta Tir Swyddfa Abertawe) will cease to be a proper office and the administrative areas previously dealt with by that Office will be administered by the Land Registry, Wales Office.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no significant impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.