SCHEDULE

THE CONSTITUTION OF ST HELENA, ASCENSION AND TRISTAN DA CUNHA

CHAPTER 1

ST HELENA

PART 4

THE EXECUTIVE

Executive Council

- 35.—(1) There shall be an Executive Council for St Helena, which shall consist of—
 - (a) five of the Elected Members of the Legislative Council, elected in accordance with section 36 (in this Part called "the elected members");
 - (b) three *ex officio* members, namely the Chief Secretary, the Financial Secretary and the Attorney General; and
 - (c) such temporary members as may be appointed under subsection (2).
- (2) The Governor may, by notice published in the *Gazette*, declare that a member of the Executive Council is, by reason of absence or illness, temporarily unable to discharge his or her functions as such member and appoint another person to be a temporary member of the Council; and any member in respect of whom the Governor has made such a declaration shall not take part in the proceedings of the Council until he or she is declared in the same manner to be again able to discharge those functions.
 - (3) The Governor, in making an appointment under subsection (2), shall appoint—
 - (a) in place of an elected member, a person who is an Elected Member of the Legislative Council; and
 - (b) in place of an ex officio member, an officer of the St Helena Public Service.
- (4) The powers conferred on the Governor by this section shall be exercised by the Governor in his or her discretion.