STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 907

The Bedfordshire (Structural Changes) Order 2008

PART 6

ELECTORAL MATTERS: MID AND SOUTH BEDFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCILS, THE CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL AND PARISHES IN BEDFORD AND CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE

Cancellation of parish council elections in Bedfordshire in 2008, etc

- **26.**—(1) Notwithstanding section 16(3) of the 1972 Act (election of parish councillors)—
 - (a) elections shall not be held in 2008 for the return of councillors to the council of the parishes of Brickhill, Cardington, Chalgrave, Chalton, Dunstable, Eastcotts, Eggington, Great Billington, Kempston, Stanbridge, Streatley, Sundon, Tilsworth, Toddington and Totternhoe;
 - (b) the term of office of those parish councillors elected in 2004 or at any subsequent by-election held before the 2009 election day for any parish within Bedford or South Bedfordshire shall end on the fourth day thereafter;
 - (c) the term of office of those parish councillors elected in 2009 or at any subsequent byelection held before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011 ("the 2011 election day") shall end on the fourth day after the 2011 election day(1).
- (2) Elections of parish councillors for every parish council in Bedford and Central Bedfordshire shall be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011 and in every fourth year thereafter.
- (3) The term of office of parish councillors shall be four years and all parish councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement, and the newly-elected parish councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

⁽¹⁾ Section 16 of the Local Government Act 1972 was amended by paragraph 6 of Schedule 5 to the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007. Under section 16(3) of the Local Government Act 1972, the term of office of parish councillors is four years.