STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 493

The County Durham (Structural Change) Order 2008

PART 5

ELECTORAL MATTERS

County Durham council election in 2008

13.—(1) A whole council election of councillors of the County Durham council shall be held on the 2008 election day, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2013, and every fourth year thereafter.

(2) The term of office of councillors elected to the County Durham council in 2005 or at any subsequent by-election held before the 2008 election day shall end on the fourth day after the 2008 election day.

(3) Notwithstanding section 7(1) of the 1972 Act, the term of office of councillors elected to the County Durham council on the 2008 election day shall be five years, and they shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013.

(4) The person who is for the time being the returning officer for County Durham(2) shall take such steps as are necessary or appropriate to prepare for the 2008 election and shall, in particular, ensure that all necessary alterations are made in the electoral register.

(5) For the purposes of the 2008 election, an electoral division for which, under the County Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2005(3) ("the 2005 Order"), one councillor is returned, shall return two councillors.

(6) In paragraph (5) "electoral division" means an electoral division of County Durham established by article 3 of the 2005 Order

Cancellation of parish council elections, etc

14.—(1) Notwithstanding section 16(3) of the 1972 Act (election of parish councillors)—

- (a) elections shall not be held in 2011 for the return of councillors to the council of any parish in County Durham; and
- (b) the term of office of those parish councillors elected in 2007 or at any subsequent byelection held before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013 shall end on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013(4).

(2) Elections of parish councillors for every parish in County Durham shall be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013 and every four years thereafter.

⁽¹⁾ See section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).

⁽²⁾ See section 35 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).

⁽**3**) S.I. 2005/176.

⁽⁴⁾ Under section 16(3) of the Local Government Act 1972, the term of office of parish councillors is four years.

Status: This is the	he original version (as it was originally made)	. This
item of legislation	on is currently only available in its original for	mat.