STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No. 491

The Cornwall (Structural Change) Order 2008

PART 2

ESTABLISHMENT OF SINGLE TIER LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN CORNWALL

Single tier local government in Cornwall

- **3.**—(1) On and after 1st April 2009 the Cornwall council shall be the sole principal authority for Cornwall.
- (2) For the purposes of enactments relating to local government, there shall be a new district, whose area shall be co-terminous with that of Cornwall; and the name of that new district shall be Cornwall.

Abolition of districts and winding up and dissolution of district councils

- 4. On 1st April 2009—
 - (a) the following local government areas shall be abolished—
 - (i) the borough of Restormel,
 - (ii) the district of Caradon,
 - (iii) the district of Carrick,
 - (iv) the district of Kerrier,
 - (v) the district of North Cornwall, and
 - (vi) the district of Penwith; and
 - (b) the following councils shall be wound up and dissolved—
 - (i) Caradon District Council,
 - (ii) Carrick District Council,
 - (iii) Kerrier District Council,
 - (iv) North Cornwall District Council,
 - (v) Penwith District Council, and
 - (vi) Restormel Borough Council.

Cessation of term of office of district councillors

5. Every person who holds office as a councillor of one of the district councils immediately before 1st April 2009 shall cease to hold office on that date.