STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2006 No. 3165

COUNTRYSIDE, ENGLAND

The National Park Authorities (England) Order 2006

Made - - - - 27th November 2006

Laid before Parliament 1st December 2006

Coming into force - - 8th May 2007

The Secretary of State makes this Order in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sections 63(1) and (5), 75(3) and (4) of, and paragraphs 1(2) to (6) and 2(1) to (3) of Schedule 7 to, the Environment Act 1995(a).

He has consulted the council for every principal area the whole or any part of which is comprised in a National Park in England other than the New Forest National Park as required by paragraph 2(3) of that Schedule.

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the National Park Authorities (England) Order 2006 and comes into force on 8th May 2007.

Amendment of the National Park Authorities (England) Order 1996

- 2. The National Park Authorities (England) Order 1996(b) is amended as follows—
 - (a) for Schedule 1 (membership of National Park authorities) substitute the text set out in the Schedule to this Order; and
 - (b) in paragraph 10 (disposal of abandoned vehicles) of Schedule 5 (application of enactments and instruments), for "regulation 12(1)" substitute "regulation 12(1)(e)".

Amendment of the New Forest National Park Authority (Establishment) Order 2005

3. In paragraph 9 (disposal of abandoned vehicles) of Schedule 3 (application of enactments and instruments) of the New Forest National Park Authority (Establishment) Order 2005(**c**), for "regulation 12(1)(aa)" substitute "paragraph (aa) of regulation 12(1)(e)".

⁽a) 1995 c.25.

⁽b) S.I. 1996/1243, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽c) S.I. 2005/421.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

SCHEDULE 1

Article 4

PART 1
MEMBERSHIP OF NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITIES

(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	(5)	
Name of	Total	Number of local	Total number of	Number of	
National Park	membership of	authority	members	members	
for which a	authority	members	appointed by the	appointed by the	
National Park			Secretary of	Secretary of	
authority is			State	State as parish	
established				members	
Dartmoor	22	12	10	4	
Exmoor	22	12	10	4	
Lake District	22	12	10	4	
Northumberland	22	12	10	4	
North York	22	12	10	4	
Moors					
Peak District	30	16	14	6	
Yorkshire Dales	22	12	10	4	

PART 2
APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL AUTHORITY MEMBERS

Authority	Appointing council	Number of members
Dartmoor National Park	Devon County Council	6
Authority	South Hams District Council	1
	Teignbridge District Council	2
	West Devon Borough Council	3
Exmoor National Park	Devon County Council	2
Authority	Somerset County Council	4
	North Devon District Council	2
	West Somerset District	4
	Council	

Lake District National Park	Cumbria County Council	6
Authority	Allerdale Borough Council	1
	Copeland Borough Council	1
	Eden District Council	1
	South Lakeland District	3
	Council	
Northumberland National Park	Northumberland County	6
Authority	Council	
	Alnwick District Council	2
	Berwick upon Tweed Borough Council	1
	Tynedale District Council	3
North York Moors National	North Yorkshire County	5
Park Authority	Council	3
Talk Tallionly	Hambleton District Council	1
	Redcar and Cleveland	2
	Borough Council	2
	Ryedale District Council	2
	Scarborough Borough Council	2
Peak District National Park	Cheshire County Council	1
Authority	Derbyshire County Council	4
•	Staffordshire County Council	1
	Barnsley Metropolitan	1
	Borough Council	
	Derbyshire Dales District	2
	Council	
	High Peak Borough Council	1
	Kirklees Metropolitan	1
	Borough Council	
	Macclesfield Borough Council	1
	North East Derbyshire District	1
	Council	
	Oldham Metropolitan Borough	1
	Council	
	Sheffield City Council	1
	Staffordshire Moorlands	1
V1-1: D-1 N-4:1 D1-	District Council	1
Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority	Cumbria County Council	1
Addionty	North Yorkshire County Council	5
	Craven District Council	3
	Richmondshire District	2
	Council	
	South Lakeland District	1"
	Council	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the National Park Authorities (England) Order 1996 (S.I. 1996/1243) so as to alter the number of members appointed to the National Park authorities for each of the National Parks in England other than Northumberland and the New Forest.

The total membership of the Peak District National Park Authority is reduced from 38 to 30, and that of each of the other authorities is reduced from 26 to 22. Changes are made, in the case of each authority, to the numbers of members appointed by the Secretary of State and by local authorities.

The opportunity is also taken to correct a reference in that Order, and a similar one in the New Forest National Park Authority (Establishment) Order 2005 (S.I. 2005/421), to a provision in the Removal and Disposal of Vehicles Regulations 1986 (S.I. 1986/183).

A regulatory impact assessment has not been prepared for this instrument as it has no impact on the costs of business.