STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2006 No. 3165

COUNTRYSIDE, ENGLAND

The National Park Authorities (England) Order 2006

Made - - - - 27th November 2006

Laid before Parliament 1st December 2006

Coming into force - 8th May 2007

The Secretary of State makes this Order in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sections 63(1) and (5), 75(3) and (4) of, and paragraphs 1(2) to (6) and 2(1) to (3) of Schedule 7 to, the Environment Act 1995(1).

He has consulted the council for every principal area the whole or any part of which is comprised in a National Park in England other than the New Forest National Park as required by paragraph 2(3) of that Schedule.

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the National Park Authorities (England) Order 2006 and comes into force on 8th May 2007.

Amendment of the National Park Authorities (England) Order 1996

- 2. The National Park Authorities (England) Order 1996(2) is amended as follows—
 - (a) for Schedule 1 (membership of National Park authorities) substitute the text set out in the Schedule to this Order; and
 - (b) in paragraph 10 (disposal of abandoned vehicles) of Schedule 5 (application of enactments and instruments), for "regulation 12(1)" substitute "regulation 12(1)(e)".

Amendment of the New Forest National Park Authority (Establishment) Order 2005

3. In paragraph 9 (disposal of abandoned vehicles) of Schedule 3 (application of enactments and instruments) of the New Forest National Park Authority (Establishment) Order 2005(3), for "regulation 12(1)(aa)" substitute "paragraph (aa) of regulation 12(1)(e)".

^{(1) 1995} c.25

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1996/1243, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽³⁾ S.I. 2005/421.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made).

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department for Environment, Food and Rural

27th November 2006

SCHEDULE 1 Article 2
"SCHEDULE 1 Article 4

PART 1
MEMBERSHIP OF NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITIES

(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	(5)
Name of National Park for which a National Park authority is established	Total membership of authority	Number of local authority members	Total number of members appointed by the Secretary of State	Number of members appointed by the Secretary of State as parish members
Dartmoor	22	12	10	4
Exmoor	22	12	10	4
Lake District	22	12	10	4
Northumberland	22	12	10	4
North York Moors	22	12	10	4
Peak District	30	16	14	6
Yorkshire Dales	22	12	10	4

PART 2
APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL AUTHORITY MEMBERS

Authority			Appointing council	Number of members
Dartmoor Authority	National	Park	Devon County Council	6
-			South Hams District Council	1
			Teignbridge District Council	2
			West Devon Borough Council	3
Exmoor Authority	National	Park	Devon County Council	2
-			Somerset County Council	4
			North Devon District Council	2
			West Somerset District Council	4
Lake Distr Authority	rict National	Park	Cumbria County Council	6
-			Allerdale Borough Council	1
			Copeland Borough Council	1

Authority	Appointing council	Number of members
	Eden District Council	1
	South Lakeland District Council	3
Northumberland National Park Authority	Northumberland County Council	6
	Alnwick District Council	2
	Berwick upon Tweed Borough Council	1
	Tynedale District Council	3
North York Moors National Park Authority	North Yorkshire County Council	5
	Hambleton District Council	1
	Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council	2
	Ryedale District Council	2
	Scarborough Borough Council	2
Peak District National Park Authority	Cheshire County Council	1
,	Derbyshire County Council	4
	Staffordshire County Council	1
	Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council	1
	Derbyshire Dales District Council	2
	High Peak Borough Council	1
	Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council	1
	Macclesfield Borough Council	1
	North East Derbyshire District Council	1
	Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council	1
	Sheffield City Council	1
	Staffordshire Moorlands District Council	1
Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority	Cumbria County Council	1
	North Yorkshire County Council	5
	Craven District Council	3

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made).

Richmondshire District Council 2 South Lakeland District 1" Council
South Earciand District

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the National Park Authorities (England) Order 1996 (S.I. 1996/1243) so as to alter the number of members appointed to the National Park authorities for each of the National Parks in England other than Northumberland and the New Forest.

The total membership of the Peak District National Park Authority is reduced from 38 to 30, and that of each of the other authorities is reduced from 26 to 22. Changes are made, in the case of each authority, to the numbers of members appointed by the Secretary of State and by local authorities.

The opportunity is also taken to correct a reference in that Order, and a similar one in the New Forest National Park Authority (Establishment) Order 2005 (S.I. 2005/421), to a provision in the Removal and Disposal of Vehicles Regulations 1986 (S.I. 1986/183).

A regulatory impact assessment has not been prepared for this instrument as it has no impact on the costs of business.