STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2006 No. 1404

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 2006

Made 25th May 2006

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Boundary Committee for England(1), under section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(2) ("the 1992 Act"), have conducted a review of the borough of Corby(3) and have submitted to the Electoral Commission(4) recommendations dated December 2005.

A period of not less than six weeks has expired since the receipt of those recommendations.

The Electoral Commission have decided to give effect, without modification, to those recommendations.

Accordingly, the Electoral Commission, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 17(5) and 26(6) of the 1992 Act, make the following Order:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 2006.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007, on 15th October 2006;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Corby;

- (1) The Boundary Committee for England is a committee of the Electoral Commission, established by the Electoral Commission in accordance with section 14 of the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 ("the 2000 Act") (c.41). The Local Government Commission for England (Transfer of Functions) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3962) transferred to the Electoral Commission the functions of the Local Government Commission for England.
- (2) 1992 c. 19. This section has been amended by S.I. 2001/3962.
- (3) The non-metropolitan district of Corby has the status of a borough.
 (4) The Electoral Commission was established by the 2000 Act (c.41). The functions of the Secretary of State, under sections 13 to 15 and 17 of the 1992 Act (c.19), to the extent that they relate to electoral changes within the meaning of that Act, were transferred with modifications to the Electoral Commission on 1st April 2002 (S.I. 2001/3962).
- (5) This section has been amended by S.I. 2001/3962 and also otherwise in ways not relevant to this Order.
- (6) This section has been amended by S.I. 2001/3962.

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and "map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 2006", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Electoral Commission

Wards of the borough of Corby

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(7) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into fifteen wards which shall be named as set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (2) of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Map

4. Corby Borough Council shall make a print of the map available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral register

5. The registration officer(**8**) for the borough shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Revocation

6. The Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 1998(9) is revoked.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 25th day of May 2006

L.S.

25th May 2006

Sam Younger Chairman of the Commission

1 · D·

25th May 2006

Jacqui Dixon Secretary to the Commission

⁽⁷⁾ See the Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2506).

⁽⁸⁾ As to registration officers, and their duties in respect of the register of local government electors, *see* sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

⁽**9**) S.I. 1998/2506.

SCHEDULE article 3

NAMES OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

Column (1)	Column (2)
Name of Ward	Number of Councillors
Central	1
Beanfield	2
Danesholme	2
East	3
Exeter	1
Great Oakley	1
Kingswood	3
Lodge Park	2
Oakley Vale	3
Rowlett	2
Rural West	1
Shire Lodge	2
Stanion and Corby Village	2
Tower Hill	2
Weldon and Gretton	2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the borough of Corby following recommendations made by the Boundary Committee for England to the Electoral Commission.

The Electoral Commission accepted the Boundary Committee's recommendations without modification.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and replaces them with 15 new ones. That article, the Schedule and the map also establish the names and areas of the new borough wards and the numbers of borough councillors for each ward.

Article 5 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 6 revokes the Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new borough wards. It is available at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk/your-area/corby.cfm and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of Corby Borough Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.