STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2005 No. 829

HIGHWAYS, ENGLAND

The Crime Prevention (Designated Areas) Order 2005

Made---18th March 2005Laid before Parliament21st March 2005Coming into force-21st April 2005

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon her by section 118B(1)(a) of the Highways Act 1980(a), hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Crime Prevention (Designated Areas) Order 2005 and shall come into force on 21st April 2005.

Interpretation

- **2.** In this Order, "the maps" means the maps numbered 73 to 82 and each entitled "Map referred to in the Crime Prevention (Designated Areas) Order 2005", of which prints signed on behalf of the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs are deposited and available for inspection at the offices of -
 - (a) the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs; and
 - (b) in the case of any one such map, the highway authority for the area hatched and edged red on that map.

Designated areas

3. The areas hatched and edged red on the maps are hereby designated for the purposes of section 118B of the Highways Act 1980.

Alun Michael
Minister of State
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

18th March 2005

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

Sections 118B and 119B of the Highways Act 1980 (inserted by paragraphs 8 and 12 of Schedule 6 to the Countryside and Rights of Way Act 2000) enable a council (which is a highway authority), for the purposes of crime prevention, to make orders for the stopping up or diversion of certain highways within areas designated by the Secretary of State under section 118B(1)(a) of the 1980 Act.

This Order designates areas under section 118B(1)(a) of the 1980 Act. These areas are within-

the cities of Nottingham and Wolverhampton, and

the district of North East Lincolnshire Council,

and are shown hatched and edged red on 10 maps numbered 73 to 82 which are deposited and available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of -

- (a) the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs at Zone 1/01, Temple Quay House, 2 The Square, Temple Quay, Bristol BS1 6EB; and
- (b) the highway authority for a designated area.

