2004 No. 1192

SUPREME COURT OF ENGLAND AND WALES COUNTY COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Courts Boards Areas Order 2004

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 4(2) of the Courts Act 2003(a), having regard to the desirability of specifying areas which are the same as the police areas listed in Schedule 1 to the Police Act 1996(b) and the area consisting of the Metropolitan Police District and the City of London police area, hereby makes the following Order a draft of which has, in accordance with section 108(2) and (3) of the Courts Act 2003, been laid before and approved by resolution of each House of Parliament:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Court Boards Areas Order 2004 and shall come into force on 1st June 2004.

Courts Boards areas

- **2.** Each of the areas respectively named in column 1, and specified in column 2 of Table 1 of the Schedule to this Order, is a courts board area in England.
- 3. Each of the areas respectively named in column 1, and specified in column 2 of Table 2 of the Schedule to this Order, is a courts board area in Wales.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

Christopher Leslie
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department of Constitutional Affairs

Dated 21st April 2004

a) 2003 c. 39

⁽b) 1996 c. 16 (division of England and Wales, except London, into police areas).

SCHEDULE

Table 1

England

Avon and Somerset The county of Somerset and the non-metropolitan districts of Bath and

North East Somerset, Bristol, North West Somerset and South

Gloucestershire

Bedfordshire The county of Bedfordshire and the non-metropolitan district of Luton

Cambridgeshire The county of Cambridgeshire
Cheshire The county of Cheshire

Cleveland The non-metropolitan districts of Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar

and Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees

Cumbria The county of Cumbria

Derbyshire The county of Derbyshire and the non-metropolitan district of Derby

Devon and Cornwall The counties of Devon and Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly

Dorset The county of Dorset and the non-metropolitan districts of Bournemouth

and Poole

Durham The county of Durham and the non-metropolitan district of Darlington

Essex The county of Essex

Gloucestershire The county of Gloucestershire

Greater Manchester The metropolitan districts of Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham,

Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan

Hampshire The counties of Hampshire and Isle of Wight and the non-metropolitan

districts of Portsmouth and Southampton

Hertfordshire The county of Hertfordshire

Humberside The non-metropolitan districts of the East Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston

upon Hull, North East Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire

Kent The county of Kent

Lancashire The county of Lancashire

Leicestershire The county of Leicestershire and the non-metropolitan districts of

Leicester and Rutland

Lincolnshire The county of Lincolnshire

London Greater London

Merseyside The metropolitan districts of Knowsley, Liverpool, St. Helens, Sefton and

Wirral

Norfolk The county of Norfolk

Northamptonshire The county of Northamptonshire

Northumbria The county of Northumberland and the metropolitan districts of

Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and

Sunderland

North Yorkshire The county of North Yorkshire and the non-metropolitan district of York

Nottinghamshire The county of Nottinghamshire

South Yorkshire The metropolitan districts of Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and

Sheffield

Staffordshire The county of Staffordshire and the non-metropolitan district of Stoke-

on-Trent

Suffolk The county of Suffolk Surrey The county of Surrey

Sussex The counties of East Sussex and West Sussex and the non-metropolitan

district of Brighton and Hove

Thames Valley The counties of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire and the

non-metropolitan district of Milton Keynes

Warwickshire The county of Warwickshire

West Mercia The counties of Hereford and Worcester and Shropshire

West Midlands The metropolitan districts of Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell,

Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton

West Yorkshire The metropolitan districts of Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and

Wakefield

Wiltshire The county of Wiltshire and the non-metropolitan district of

Thamesdown

Table 2

Wales

Dyfed Powys The counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and

Powy

Gwent The county of Monmouthshire and the county boroughs of Blaenau

Gwent, Caerphilly, Newport and Torfaen

North Wales The counties of Anglesey, Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire,

Denbighshire and Flintshire and the county boroughs of Aberconwy and

Colwyn and Wrexham

South Wales The counties of Cardiff and Swansea and the county boroughs of

Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil, Neath and Port Talbot, Rhondda, Cynon, Taff

and the Vale of Glamorgan

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This is the first Order made under section 4 of the Courts Act 2003. It names and specifies courts boards areas in England and Wales.

£3.00

© Crown copyright 2004

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament. E0264 4/2004 140264 19585

