STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2003 No. 641

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Commission Areas (South Wales) Order 2003

Made - - - - 26th February 2003

Laid before Parliament 11th March 2003

Coming into force - 1st April 2003

Whereas the South Wales magistrates' courts committee have, in pursuance of section 32A(1) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997(1) submitted to the Lord Chancellor written proposals for the alteration of the commission areas for which they are the committee:

And whereas the provisions of section 32A(2) of that Act have been complied with:

Now, therefore, the Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 1(2) of that Act, makes the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Commission Areas (South Wales) Order 2003 and shall come into force on 1st April 2003.
 - 2. In this Order—

"area" means a commission area including any part of the South Wales magistrates' courts committee area;

any reference to a justice for an area shall be construed as a reference to a person who holds the commission of the peace for that area.

- 3. In Part II of the Schedule to the Justices of the Peace (Commission Areas) Order 1999(2)—
 - (a) omit the entry for West Glamorgan; and
 - (b) for the entry "South Wales" substitute—

"Name of commission area	Extent of commission area
South Wales	The area of South Wales MCC"

^{(1) 1997} c. 25; new section 1 was substituted by, and section 32A was inserted by, section 74 of the Access to Justice Act 1999 (c. 22)

⁽²⁾ S.I.1999/3010; the relevant amending instrument is S.I. 2001/696.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

4. Every person who immediately before 1st April 2003 holds office as a justice of the peace for the West Glamorgan area shall on and after that date hold office as a justice of the peace for the South Wales area, and the commissions of the peace for the West Glamorgan area shall accordingly have effect as commissions of the peace for the South Wales area until such time as a commission of the peace for that area is granted.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

26th February 2003

Yvette Cooper
Parliamentary Secretary,
Lord Chancellor's Department

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order deals with the reorganisation of the commission areas in the South Wales magistrates' court committee area. A single commission area to be known as the South Wales commission area replaces the existing commission areas of South Wales and West Glamorgan.

The Order comes into force on 1st April 2003.