STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2003 No. 6

PREVENTION AND SUPPRESSION OF TERRORISM

The Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 2003

Made - - - - 7th January 2003

Laid before Parliament 9th January 2003

Coming into force - - 10th January 2003

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by the definition of "convention country" in section 8(1) of the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978(1) hereby makes the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Suppression of Terrorism Act 1978 (Designation of Countries) Order 2003 and shall come into force on 10th January 2003.
- **2.**—(1) The countries set out in paragraph (2) are hereby designated as parties to the European Convention on the Suppression of Terrorism signed at Strasbourg on 27th January 1977.
 - (2) Those countries are—
 Albania;
 Bulgaria;
 Estonia;
 Georgia;
 Hungary;
 Latvia;
 Lithuania;
 Malta;
 Moldova;
 Poland;

Romania;

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Russian Federation; San Marino; Slovenia; Ukraine.

Home Office 7th January 2003

Bob Ainsworth
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates the countries listed in article 2(2) as countries which are for the time being parties to the Convention referred to in article 2(1).