EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Public Service Vehicles Accessibility Regulations 2000 ("the 2000 Regulations"). The 2000 Regulations apply to single-deck and double-deck buses and to single-deck and double-deck coaches with a capacity of more than twenty-two passengers which are used to provide local and scheduled services.

The fees for accessibility certificates are specified in regulation 7 of the 2000 Regulations and the fee for the issue of a duplicate accessibility or conformity certificate is specified in regulation 18(5) of the 2000 Regulations.

Regulation 2 specifies the increased fees in regulations 7 and 18(5) of the 2000 Regulations—

- (a) the prescribed fee for an application for an accessibility certificate on the first application in respect of the vehicle where the vehicle is required to comply with only one of Schedules 1, 2 or 3 is increased by 3.6% from £28 to £29;
- (b) the prescribed fee for an application for an accessibility certificate on the first application in respect of the vehicle where the vehicle is required to comply with either Schedule 1 and 2 or Schedules 1 and 3 is increased by 3.6% from £55 to £57;
- (c) the prescribed fee for an accessibility certificate on any subsequent application where the vehicle is required to comply with only one of Schedule 1, 2 or 3 is increased by 5% from £10 to £10.50;
- (d) the prescribed fee for an accessibility certificate on any subsequent application where the vehicle is required to comply with either Schedules 1 and 2 or Schedules 1 and 3 is increased by 5% from £20 to £21;
- (e) the prescribed fee for the issue of a duplicate accessibility or conformity certificate under regulation 18 is increased by 10% from £10 to £11.

A regulatory impact assessment has been prepared and copies can be obtained from the Department for Transport, Zone 2/05, Great Minster House, 76 Marsham Street, London SW1P 4DR (telephone number: 020–7944 2455). A copy has been placed in the library of each House of Parliament.