SCHEDULE 3

SPECIALTIES IN WHICH THE UK AWARDS A CCT, AND ANY MINIMUM TRAINING PERIODS

PART 1

SPECIALTIES WITH MINIMUM TRAINING PERIODS

Five years

Accident and emergency medicine

General (internal) medicine* (formerly known as general medicine)

General surgery*

Neurosurgery* (formally known as neurological surgery)

Trauma and orthopaedic surgery* (formally known as orthopaedic surgery)

Paediatric surgery

Plastic surgery*

Cardio-thoracic surgery (formerly known as thoracic surgery)

Urology*

Four years

Cardiology (formerly known as cardio-vascular disease) Chemical pathology (also known as clinical biochemistry) Child and adolescent psychiatry Clinical neurophysiology Clinical pharmacology and therapeutics Infectious diseases (formerly known as communicable diseases) Public health medicine (formerly known as community medicine) Dermatology Clinical radiology* (formerly known as diagnostic radiology, and as radiology) Gastro-enterology Geriatric medicine (formerly known as geriatrics) Immunology (also known as immunopathology) Medical microbiology and virology (formerly known as medical microbiology) Histopathology* (formerly known as morbid anatomy and histopathology,) Neurology* Nuclear medicine Obstetrics and gynaecology*

1

Occupational medicine Oral and maxillo-facial surgery (basic medical and dental training) Paediatrics* General psychiatry* (formerly known as psychiatry, as general adult psychiatry, and as mental illness) Clinical oncology* (formerly known as radiotherapy) Renal medicine (formerly known as renal disease, and as nephrology) Respiratory medicine* (also known as thoracic medicine) Rheumatology Tropical medicine Genito-urinary medicine (formerly known as venereology)

Three years

Anaesthetics*

Endocrinology and diabetes mellitus

Haematology

Ophthalmology*

Otolaryngology* (also known as ENT surgery)

Note: The specialties marked * above are those listed in Annex C of the Directive which are common to all EEA States. The remaining specialties are those in which the UK awards a qualification but which are peculiar to two or more EEA States.