## **SCHEDULE 2**

## THE POSTGRADUATE MEDICAL EDUCATION AND TRAINING BOARD AND ITS STATUTORY COMMITTEES

## PART 1

## THE BOARD

The chair

- **3.**—(1) Subject to sub-paragraph (3), the members of the Board shall elect a chair from among themselves.
  - (2) Subject to sub-paragraph (3), the term of office of the chair shall be three years.
- (3) The first chair shall be appointed by the Secretary of State and his term of office shall be five years.
- (4) Subject to sub-paragraph (5), the chair shall hold office until whichever of the following first occurs—
  - (a) he resigns as chair by giving notice in writing to the Secretary of State and the Board;
  - (b) he ceases to be a member of the Board; or
  - (c) he is removed as chair by a majority vote of the other members of the Board.
- (5) The first chair cannot be removed by a majority vote of other members of the Board under sub-paragraph (4)(c) but he may be removed from office by the Secretary of State if—
  - (a) he ceases to live or work wholly or mainly in the United Kingdom;
  - (b) there is a change in his qualifications, interests or experience such that it appears to the Secretary of State that he will no longer contribute to the Board's exercise of its functions in such manner as justifies his continued chairmanship; or
  - (c) there is, in the opinion of the Secretary of State, a serious and persistent deficiency in his attendance at meetings, or in his conduct or performance at meetings of the Board or otherwise.
- (6) If the first chair ceases to hold office under sub-paragraphs (4)(a) or (b) or (5), the Secretary of State shall appoint a successor for the unexpired term.
- (7) In sub-paragraph (6), "unexpired term" means the period beginning with the date on which the chair ceases to be the chair and ending with the date on which his full term of office as chair under sub-paragraph (3) would have expired.
- (8) Subject to sub-paragraph (9), a person shall not be prevented from being elected chair merely because he has previously been chair.
- (9) If a period of eight years has elapsed, beginning with his assuming office as chair, and no other person has been appointed or elected (and served) as chair during that time, that person may not be elected as chair until some other person has served as chair.