STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 960

NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE, ENGLAND

The Medway Primary Care Trust (Establishment) Order 2002

Made - - - - 25th March 2002 Coming into force 1st April 2002

The Secretary of State for Health, in the exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 16A(1), (2) and (3) and 126(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 5A to, the National Health Service Act 1977(a) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, following compliance with the consultation requirements contained in regulations made under section 16A(5) of the Act(b), hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Medway Primary Care Trust (Establishment) Order 2002 and shall come into force on 1st April 2002.
 - (2) In this Order, unless the context otherwise requires—

"operational date" is to be construed in accordance with paragraph 1(2) of Schedule 5A to the Act;

"the trust" means the Medway Primary Care Trust established by article 2 of this Order.

Establishment, operational date and name of the Primary Care Trust

- **2.**—(1) There is hereby established with effect from 1st April 2002 a Primary Care Trust to be called the Medway Primary Care Trust.
 - (2) The operational date of the trust shall be 1st April 2002.

Area of the trust

3. The trust shall be established for the area specified in the Schedule to this Order.

⁽a) 1977 c.49; section 16A was inserted by the Health Act 1999 (c. 8) ("the 1999 Act"), section 2(1); section 126(4) was amended by the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990 (c. 19) ("the 1990 Act"), section 65(2) and by the 1999 Act, Schedule 4, paragraph 37(6); Schedule 5A was inserted by the 1999 Act, Schedule 1. The functions of the Secretary of State under these provisions are, so far as exercisable in relation to Wales, transferred to the National Assembly for Wales by article 2(a) of, and the entry for the National Health Service Act 1977 in Schedule 1 to, the National Assembly for Wales (Transfer of Functions) Order 1999, S.I. 1999/672, as amended by section 66(5) of the 1999 Act.

⁽b) See S.I. 1999/2337.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hazel Blears
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of Health

25th March 2002

SCHEDULE

Article 3

AREA OF TRUST

In the borough of Medway—

the electoral wards of All Saints, Beechings, Blue Bell Hill, Brompton, Cuxton and Halling (one ward), Earl, Frindsbury, Frindsbury Extra and Chattenden (one ward), Gillingham North, Gillingham South, Hartlip and Upchurch, Hempstead and Wigmore, Higham, Holcombe, Hook Meadow, Hoo St. Werburgh, Horsted, Lordswood, Luton, Medway, North Dane, Parkwood, Priestfield, Rainham, Rainham Mark, Rede Court, Riverside, St. Margaret's, St. Margaret's and Bostal, Temple Farm, Thames Side, Town, Troy Town, Twydall, Walderslade, Warren Wood, Watling Street, Wayfield.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order establishes the Medway Primary Care Trust ("the trust"), as provided for under section 16A of the National Health Service Act 1977. It specifies the trust's establishment and operational dates (article 2) and the area for which it is established (article 3 and the Schedule).

£1.75

© Crown copyright 2002

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament