#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2002 No. 2599

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Melton (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

*Made - - - 12th October 2002* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Boundary Committee for England(1), acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(2), has submitted to the Electoral Commission(3) recommendations dated June 2002 on its review of the borough(4) of Melton:

And whereas the Electoral Commission have decided to give effect to those recommendations:

And whereas a period of not less than six weeks has expired since the receipt of those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Electoral Commission, in exercise of the powers conferred on them by sections 17(5) and 26(6) of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling them in that behalf, hereby make the following Order:

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Melton (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on the day after that on which it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.

<sup>(1)</sup> The Boundary Committee for England is a committee of the Electoral Commission, established by the Electoral Commission in accordance with section 14 of the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 (c. 41). The Local Government Commission for England (Transfer of Functions) Order 2001 (S.I. 2001/3962) transferred to the Electoral Commission the functions of the Local Government Commission for England.

<sup>(2) 1992</sup> c. 19. This section has been amended by S.I. 2001/3962.

<sup>(3)</sup> The Electoral Commission was established by the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 (c. 41). The functions of the Secretary of State, under sections 13 to 15 and 17 of the Local Government Act 1992, to the extent that they relate to electoral arrangements within the meaning of that Act, were transferred with modifications to the Electoral Commission on 1st April 2002 (S.I. 2001/3962).

<sup>(4)</sup> The non-metroplitan district of Melton has the status of a borough.

<sup>(5)</sup> This section has been amended by S.I. 2001/3962. There are amendments to this section made otherwise than by S.I. 2001/3962 that are not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(6)</sup> This section has been amended by S.I. 2001/3962.

## Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Melton;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Melton (Electoral Changes) Order 2002", of which prints are available for inspection at—

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of Melton Borough Council; and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

#### Wards of the borough of Melton

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(7) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into sixteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

## Wards of the parish of Sproxton

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Sproxton(8) shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Saltby, Sproxton and Stonesby; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 6 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
  - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be two.

### Maps

**5.** Melton Borough Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Melton (Electoral Changes) Order 2002" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

#### **Electoral registers**

**6.** The Electoral Registration Officer(9) for the borough shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

<sup>(7)</sup> See the Borough of Melton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 (S.I. 1977/731).

<sup>(8)</sup> See the Borough of Melton (Parish Councillors) (Amendment) Order 1980.

<sup>(9)</sup> As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, see sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

## Revocation

**7.** The Borough of Melton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977(10) is revoked, save for article 8.

Signed by the members of the Electoral Commission

4th October 2002	Pamela Gordon Commissioner
4th October 2002	Glyn Mathias Commissioner
4th October 2002	Neil McIntosh Commissioner
4th October 2002	Karamjit Singh Commissioner
4th October 2002	Sam Younger Commissioner
12th October 2002	Graham Zellick Commissioner

SCHEDULE Article 3

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Asfordby	The parish of Asfordby	2
Bottesford	The parish of Bottesford	2
Croxton Kerrial		1
Frisby-on-the-Wreake	The parishes of Frisby and Kirby, Grimston and Hoby with Rotherby	1
Gaddesby	The parishes of Burton and Dalby, and Gaddesby	1
Long Clawson and Stathern	The parish of Clawson, Hose and Harby and the parishes of Redmile and Stathern	2
Melton Craven		2
Melton Dorian		3
Melton Egerton		2
Melton Newport		3
Melton Sysonby		3
Melton Warwick		2
Old Dalby	The parishes of Ab Kettleby, and Broughton and Old Dalby	1
Somerby	The parishes of Knossington and Cold Overton, Somerby, and Twyford and Thorpe	1
Waltham-on-the-Wolds	The parishes of Scalford and Waltham	1
Wymondham		1

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission, for electoral changes in the borough of Melton.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 16 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 4 makes electoral changes in the parish of Sproxton.

Article 6 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 7 revokes the Borough of Melton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 (S.I.1977/731), with the exception of article 8.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 2. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Melton Borough Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.