STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 1588

CORONERS

The Lincolnshire (Coroners' Districts) Order 2002

Made - - - - 13th June 2002

Laid before Parliament 17th June 2002

Coming into force - - 1st August 2002

Whereas:

- (1) the Council of the County of Lincolnshire have, in pursuance of section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988(1) and after due compliance with the provisions of the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules 1927(2), submitted to the Secretary of State a draft Order providing for the alteration of the existing division of that county into coroners' districts; and
- (2) the Secretary of State has made such modifications of the draft Order as he thinks fit; Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 4(2) of that Act, hereby makes the following Order:
 - 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Lincolnshire (Coroners' Districts) Order 2002.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force on 1st August 2002.
- (3) This Order shall not have effect in relation to any inquest begun before the day on which it comes into force or to any post-mortem examination which, before that day, a coroner has directed or requested a medical practitioner to make.
 - 2. The following areas, namely—
 - (a) the existing coroners' districts of Lincoln, Grantham and Sleaford (as constituted by the Lincolnshire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974(3)), and
 - (b) the part of the existing Louth coroner's district (as so constituted) which consists of the parishes of East Barkwith, Hatton, Langton-by-Wragby, Panton, West Barkwith, West Torrington and Wragby, all in the district of East Lindsey,

shall be amalgamated to form a single coroner's district called the West Lincolnshire Coroner's District.

^{(1) 1988} c. 13

⁽²⁾ S.R & O 1927/343.

⁽³⁾ S.I.1974/371.

- **3.** Accordingly, the County of Lincolnshire shall be divided into five coroners' districts and each such coroner's district shall consist of the area specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the coroner's district in question as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- **4.** The Lincolnshire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974 and the Lincolnshire (Coroners' Districts) (Amendment) Order 1984(**4**) are hereby revoked.

Home Office 13th June 2002

Hilary Benn
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

SCHEDULE

2		
1. Name of coroner's district	2. Areas comprised in coroner's district	
Boston and Spalding	The Borough of Boston and the District of South Holland.	
West Lincolnshire	The City of Lincoln; the District of North Kesteven; the District of South Kesteven, except those parishes within the Stamford coroner's district; the District of West Lindsey except those parishes within the Louth coroner's district; and in the District of East Lindsey, the parishes of East Barkwith, Hatton, Langton by Wragby, Panton, West Barkwith, West Torrington, and Wragby.	
Louth	In the District of East Lindsey, the parishes of Aby with Greenfield, Alford, Alvingham, Asterby, Authorpe, Beesby in the Marsh, Bellau, Benniworth, Bilsby, Binbrook, Brackenborough, Brinkhill, Burgh on Bain, Burwell, Calceby, Calcethorpe, Cawkwell, Claythorpe, Conisholme, Covenham St Bartholomew, Covenham St Mary, Donington on Bain, Driby, East Wykeham, Farlesthorpe, Fotherby, Fulstow, Gayton le Marsh, Gayton le Wold, Goulceby, Grainsby, Grainthorpe, Great Carlton, Grimoldby, Hainton, Hallington, Hannah cum Hagnaby, Haugh, Haugham, Holton le Clay, Huttoft, Keddington, Kelstern, Legbourne, Little Carlton, Little Cawthorpe, Little Grimsby, Louth, Ludborough, Ludford, Mablethorpe and Sutton, Maidenwell, Maltby le Marsh, Manby, Markby, Market Stainton, Marsh Chapel, Muckton, North Coates, North Cockerington, North Elkington, North Ormsby, North Reston, North Somercoates, North Thoresby, Raithby cum Maltby, Ranby, Rigsby with Ailby, Saleby with Thoresthorpe, Saltfleetby St Peter, Scamblesby, Skidbrooke with Saltfleet Haven, Sotby, South Cockerington, South Elkington, South Ormsby cum Ketsby, South Reston, South Somercoates, South Thoresby, South Willingham, Stenigot, Stewton, Strubby with Woodthorpe, Swaby, Tathwell, Tetney, Theddlethorpe All Saints, Theddlethorpe St Helen, Tothill, Ulceby with Fordington, Utterby, Waithe, Walmsgate, Well, Welton le Wold, Withcall, Withern with Stain, Wyham cum Cadeby and Yarborough; and in	

1.	2.
Name of coroner's district	Areas comprised in coroner's district
	Bigby, Brocklesby, Cabourne, Caistor, Claxby, Grasby, Great Limber, Holton le Moor, Keelby, Kirmond leMire, Legsby, Linwood, Market Rasen, Middle Rasen, Nettleton, Normanby le Wold, North Kelsey, North Willingham, Osgodby, Owersby, Riby, Rothwell, Searby cum Owmby, Sixhills, Somerby, South Kelsey, Stainton le Vale, Swallow, Swinhope, Tealby, Thoresway, Thorganby, and Walesby.
Spilsby	The District of East Lindsey except the parishes in the Louth and West Lincolnshire coroners' districts.
Stamford	In the District of South Kesteven, the parishes of Aslackby and Laughton, Barholm and Stowe, Baston, Billingborough, Bourne, Braceborough and Wilsthorpe, Careby Aunby and Holywell, Carlby, Castle Bytham, Corby Glen, Counthorpe and Creeton, Deeping St James, Dowsby, Dunsby, Edenham, Folkingham, Greatford, Haconby, Horbling, Irnham, Kirkby Underwood, Langtoft, Little Bytham, Market Deeping, Morton, Pointon and Sempringham, Rippingale, Stamford, Swayfield, Swinstead, Tallington, Thurlby, Toft with Lound and Manthorpe, Uffington, West Deeping and Witham on the Hill.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The County of Lincolnshire was divided into eight coroners' districts by the Lincolnshire (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974. Two of these, Boston and Spalding, were amalgamated to form the Boston and Spalding Coroner's District by the Lincolnshire (Coroners' Districts) (Amendment) Order 1984.

This Order replaces the three coroners' districts of Lincoln, Grantham and Sleaford and (as a result of the Secretary of State's modification) part of the Louth coroner's district with the new coroner's district of West Lincolnshire (as set out in the Schedule to this Order). The Schedule also sets out the remaining four of the coroners' districts into which the County of Lincolnshire is now divided.