STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2001 No. 4057

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Eastbourne (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Made - - - - 20th December 2001

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated August 2001 on its review of the borough(2) of Eastbourne together with its recommendations;

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect, subject to modifications, to those recommendations;

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Eastbourne (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 2nd May 2002, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 2nd May 2002.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Eastbourne;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Eastbourne (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Eastbourne has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the borough of Eastbourne

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into nine wards which shall bear the names Devonshire, Hampden Park, Langney, Meads, Old Town, Ratton, St Anthony's, Sovereign and Upperton.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be 3.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Elections of the council of the borough of Eastbourne

- **3.**—(1) Subject to the following provisions of this article, the election of councillors for wards of the borough shall be by thirds.
- (2) Elections of all councillors for all wards of the borough shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2002(6).
- (3) The councillors holding office for any ward of the borough immediately before 6th May 2002 shall retire on that date and the newly-elected councillors for those wards shall come into office on that date.
 - (4) Of the councillors elected in 2002, one shall retire in 2003, one in 2004 and one in 2006.
 - (5) Of the councillors elected in 2002—
 - (a) the first to retire shall, subject to paragraphs (6) and (7), be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
 - (b) the second to retire shall, subject to those paragraphs, be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.
- (6) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.
- (7) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year shall be determined by lot.
- (8) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.
- (9) Except as otherwise provided in the preceding paragraphs of this article, the term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

Revocation

4. The Borough of Eastbourne (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 is hereby revoked.

⁽⁵⁾ See the Borough of Eastbourne (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 (S.I. 1975/1699).

⁽⁶⁾ For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, "see" section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department for Transport, Local Government
and the Regions

20th December 2001

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, subject to modifications, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Eastbourne. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 2nd May 2002.

The modifications relate to the boundaries of one of the proposed new wards and the name of a ward. The Secretary of State has decided that the boundary between Ratton and Upperton wards should follow the entire length of Cross Levels Way until it reaches Kings Drive as shown on the map. The Secretary of State has also decided that the ward name "Roselands and St Anthony's" recommended by the Local Government Commission be changed to "St Anthony's".

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 9 new wards. That article also makes provision for the names and numbers of councillors for the new wards.

Article 3 makes provision for a whole council election in 2002 and for reversion to elections by thirds in subsequent years.

Article 4 revokes the Borough of Eastbourne (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975.

The areas of the new borough wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Eastbourne Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.