STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2001 No. 4054

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Rother (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Made - - - 20th December 2001

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated August 2001 on its review of the district of Rother together with its recommendations;

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations;

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Rother (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on the 15th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"district" means the district of Rother;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Rother (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the district of Rother

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(4) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes and parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Elections of the council of the district of Rother

- **3.**—(1) The ordinary elections of all councillors of the district of Rother shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 2003(**5**) and every fourth year after 2003.
- (2) The term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

Wards of the parish of Battle

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Battle shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Marley, Netherfield, Telham and Watch Oak; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 5 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Marley parish ward shall be five, for each of the Netherfield and Telham parish wards shall be two, and for the Watch Oak parish ward shall be eight.

Revocation

5. The District of Rother (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of Transport, Local Government and
the Regions

20th December 2001

⁽⁴⁾ See the District of Rother (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980 (S.I. 1980/581).

⁽⁵⁾ For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, *see* section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

SCHEDULE Article 2 NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Battle Town		2
Brede Valley	The parishes of Brede, Udimore and Westfield	2
Central		2
Collington		2
Crowhurst		1
Darwell		2
Eastern Rother	The parishes of Camber, East Guldeford, Icklesham, Iden and Playden	2
Ewhurst and Sedlescombe	The parishes of Ewhurst and Sedlescombe	1
Kewhurst		2
Marsham	The parishes of Fairlight, Guestling and Pett	2
Old Town		2
Rother Levels	The parishes of Beckley, Northiam, Peasmarsh and Rye Foreign	2
Rye	The parish of Rye	2
Sackville		2
St Marks		2
St Michaels		2
St Stephens		2
Salehurst	The parishes of Bodiam, Hurst Green, and Salehurst and Robertsbridge	2
Sidley		2
Ticehurst and Etchingham	The parishes of Etchingham and Ticehurst	2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Rother. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 20 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 provides for the election of all councillors of the district of Rother to take place in 2003 and every 4 years after that year.

Article 4 makes electoral changes in the parish of Battle.

Article 5 revokes the District of Rother (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Rother Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.