# STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2001 No. 3358

# The District of East Riding (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of East Riding (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.

- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 15th October 2002;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"district" means the district of East Riding;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the District of East Riding (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

## Wards of the district of East Riding

**2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(**2**) shall be abolished.

(2) The district shall be divided into twenty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, parishes and parish wards, parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

<sup>(1)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> See the Humberside (Structural Changes) Order 1995 (S.I. 1995/600) as amended by the East Riding of Yorkshire (Parishes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/154).

#### Elections of the council of the district of East Riding

**3.**—(1) The ordinary elections of all councillors of the district of East Riding shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 2003(**3**) and every fourth year after 2003.

(2) The term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

#### Wards of the parish of Bridlington

**4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Bridlington shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be four.

#### Wards of the parish of Cottingham

**5.**—(1) The parish of Cottingham(4) shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Castle, Croxby, Millbeck and Priory; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 6 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the parish wards of Croxby and Millbeck shall be two, for the parish ward of Castle shall be three, and for the parish ward of Priory shall be four.

### Wards of the parish of Driffield

**6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Driffield shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Driffield North, Driffield South, Driffield South West and Driffield West; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 5 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish ward of Driffield North shall be four, for the parish ward of Driffield South shall be two, and for each of the parish wards of Driffield South West and Driffield West shall be five.

#### Wards of the parish of Woodmansey

7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Woodmansey shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Dunswell, Minster View, Nurseries and Victoria; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 6 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish ward of Dunswell shall be one, for each of the parish wards of Minster View and Victoria shall be four, and for the parish ward of Nurseries shall be three.

<sup>(3)</sup> For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

<sup>(4)</sup> See S.I. 1999/154 as amended by S.I. 2000/91.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

### Numbers of parish councillors

**8.**—(1) The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish of Airmyn shall be nine.

(2) In the parish of Hornsea the number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish ward of North shall be eight and for the parish ward of South shall be six.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

4th October 2001