STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 781

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Made - - - - 16th March 2000

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(a), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated September 1999 on its review of the London borough of Croydon together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect, subject to one modification, to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(b) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 2nd May 2002, on 10th October 2001;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 2nd May 2002.
 - (3) In this Order—
 - "borough" means the London borough of Croydon;
 - "existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(c).

⁽a) 1992 c. 19.

⁽b) Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽c) S.I. 1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the London borough of Croydon

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**a**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by red lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Fieldway and New Addington wards shall be two, and for each of the other wards shall be three.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Revocation

3. The London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment,
Transport and the Regions

16th March 2000

4882511002 23-03-00 06:19:06 Pag Table: STATIN PPSysB Unit: pag1

SCHEDULE NAMES OF WARDS article 2(2)

Addiscombe

Ashburton

Bensham Manor

Broad Green

Coulsdon East

Coulsdon West

Croham

Fairfield

Fieldway

Heathfield

Kenley

New Addington

Norbury

Purley

Sanderstead

Selhurst

Selsdon and Ballards

Shirley

South Norwood

Thornton Heath

Upper Norwood

Waddon

West Thornton

Woodside

Unit: pag1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, subject to one modification, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the London borough of Croydon. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 2nd May 2002. The modification relates to the name of one of the proposed new wards. The Secretary of State has decided that the ward for which the Commission suggested the name "Selsdon" should be called "Selsdon and Ballards".

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 24 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names of the new wards. The Fieldway and New Addington wards are each to be represented by two councillors. Each of the other wards is to be represented by three councillors.

Article 3 revokes the London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

The areas of the new wards are demarcated on the map described in artice 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Council of the London Borough of Croydon and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

