2000 No. 676

MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Magistrates' Courts Committee Areas (Amendment) Order 2000

Made - - - - 9th March 2000

Coming into force 1st April 2000

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 27A(2) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997(a), makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Magistrates' Courts Committee Areas (Amendment) Order 2000 and shall come into force on 1st April 2000.

Magistrates' courts committee areas

2. For the Schedule to the Magistrates' Courts Committee Areas Order 1999(b) there shall be substituted the Schedule to this Order.

Signed by the authority of the Lord Chancellor

Jane Kennedy
Parliamentary Secretary,
Lord Chancellor's Department

Dated 9th March 2000

⁽a) 1997 c. 25. Section 27A(2) was inserted into the Justices of the Peace Act 1997 by section 81 of the Access to Justice Act 1999 (c. 22).

⁽b) S.I. 1999/3008.

PART I

MAGISTRATES' COURTS COMMITTEE AREAS IN ENGLAND OUTSIDE GREATER LONDON

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
Avon and Somerset(a)	Bath and North East Somerset Council Bristol City Council North Somerset Council Somerset County Council South Gloucestershire Council
Barnsley	Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
Bedfordshire	Bedfordshire County Council Luton Borough Council
Cambridgeshire	Cambridgeshire County Council Peterborough City Borough Council
Cheshire	Cheshire County Council Halton Borough Council Warrington Council
Cleveland	Hartlepool Borough Council Middlesbrough Council Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council Stockton on Tees Borough Council
Cumbria	Cumbria County Council
Derbyshire	Derbyshire County Council Derby City Council
Devon and Cornwall	Cornwall County Council Devon County Council Plymouth City Council Torbay Council Isles of Scilly Council
Doncaster	Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council
Dorset	Dorset County Council Bournemouth Borough Council Poole Borough Council
Durham	Durham County Council Darlington Borough Council
East Sussex	East Sussex County Council Brighton and Hove Borough Council
Essex	Essex County Council Southend-on-Sea Borough Council Thurrock Borough Council

⁽a) The Avon and Somerset magistrates' courts committee was constituted by S.I. 1998/3133.

2

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
Gloucestershire	Gloucestershire County Council
Hampshire and Isle of Wight(a)	Hampshire County Council Isle of Wight County Council Portsmouth City Council Southampton City Council
Hereford and Worcester	Worcestershire County Council County of Herefordshire District Council
Hertfordshire	Hertfordshire County Council
Humberside	East Riding of Yorkshire Council Kingston-upon-Hull City Council North East Lincolnshire Council North Lincolnshire Council
Kent	Kent County Council Medway Towns District Council
Lancashire	Lancashire County Council Blackburn with Darwen Council Blackpool Borough Council
Leicestershire	Leicestershire County Council Leicester City Council Rutland County District Council
Lincolnshire	Lincolnshire County Council
Manchester	Manchester City Council
Merseyside	Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council Liverpool City Council Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council St. Helens Metropolitan Borough Council Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council
Norfolk	Norfolk County Council
Northamptonshire	Northamptonshire County Council
Northumbria(b)	Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council Newcastle upon Tyne City Council North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council Northumberland County Council South Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council Sunderland City Council
North and West Greater Manchester	Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council Bury Metropolitan Borough Council Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council City of Salford Metropolitan Borough Council Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council

⁽a) The Hampshire and Isle of Wight magistrates' courts committee was constituted by S.I. 1999/523.(b) The Northumbria magistrates' courts committee was constituted by S.I. 1998/2707 as amended by S.I. 1998/3108.

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
North Yorkshire	North Yorkshire County Council City of York Council
Nottinghamshire	Nottinghamshire County Council Nottingham City Council
Oldham	Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
Rotherham	Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council
Sheffield	City of Sheffield Metropolitan Borough Council
Shropshire	Shropshire County Council Telford and Wrekin Council
Staffordshire	Staffordshire County Council Stoke-on-Trent City Council
Stockport	Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council
Suffolk	Suffolk County Council
Surrey	Surrey County Council
Tameside	Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council
Thames Valley	Oxfordshire County Council Bracknell Forest Borough District Council Newbury District Council Reading Borough Council Slough Borough Council Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Wokingham District Council Buckinghamshire County Council Milton Keynes Borough Council
Trafford	Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council
Warwickshire	Warwickshire County Council
West Midlands	Birmingham City Council Coventry City Council Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council Wolverhampton Metropolitan Borough Council
West Sussex	West Sussex County Council

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
West Yorkshire(a)	Bradford City Council Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council Leeds City Council Wakefield City Council
Wiltshire	Wiltshire County Council Swindon Borough Council

PART II MAGISTRATES' COURTS COMMITTEE AREAS IN WALES

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
Dyfed Powys(b)	Carmarthenshire County Council Ceredigion County Council Pembrokeshire County Council Powys County Council
Gwent	Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council Caerphilly County Borough Council Monmouthshire County Council Newport County Borough Council Torfaen County Borough Council
North Wales	Isle of Anglesey County Council Denbighshire County Council Flintshire County Council Gwynedd County Council Wrexham County Borough Council Conwy County Borough Council
South Wales(c)	Bridgend County Borough Council Cardiff City and County Council City and County of Swansea Council Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council Rhondda Cynon Taff County Borough Council Vale of Glamorgan County Borough Council

⁽a) The West Yorkshire magistrates' courts committee was constituted by S.I. 1998/2769 as amended by S.I. 1999/152.
(b) The Dyfed Powys magistrates' courts committee was constituted by S.I. 1998/2664.
(c) The South Wales magistrates' courts committee was constituted by S.I. 1999/1609.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order substitutes a new list for the list of magistrates' courts committee areas in the Magistrates' Courts Committee Areas Order 1999. The list in that Order was the list of magistrates' courts committee areas in existence immediately before 27th September 1999. The new list substituted by this Order takes account of changes that were effected by Orders made before 27th September 1999, but that come into force on 1st April 2000.