STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 316

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The London Borough of Harrow (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Made - - - 10th February 2000 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated June 1999 on its review of the London borough of Harrow together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Harrow (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.

(2) This Order shall come into force—

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 2nd May 2002, on 10th October 2001;
- (b) for all other purposes, on 2nd May 2002.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the London borough of Harrow;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the London Borough of Harrow (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(**3**).

⁽**1**) 1992 c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the London borough of Harrow

2.—(1) The existing wards of the borough(4) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in the Schedule.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be three.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Revocation

3. The London Borough of Harrow (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

10th February 2000

(4) See the London Borough of Harrow (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 (S.I. 1978/89).

SCHEDULE

article 2(2)

NAMES OF WARDS

Belmont Canons Edgware Greenhill Harrow on the Hill Harrow Weald Hatch End Headstone North Headstone South Kenton East Kenton West Marlborough Pinner Pinner South Queensbury Rayners Lane Roxbourne Roxeth Stanmore Park Wealdstone West Harrow

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the London borough of Harrow. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 2nd May 2002.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 21 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names of the new wards. Each ward will be represented by 3 councillors.

Article 3 revokes the London Borough of Harrow (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

The areas of the new wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Harrow London Borough Council and

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.