STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 2379

DEFENCE

The Reserve Forces Act 1996 (Reserve Associations) Order 2000

Made - - - - 4th September 2000

Laid before Parliament 7th September 2000

Coming into force - - 1st October 2000

The Defence Council, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 110(2) and (3) and 119 of the Reserve Forces Act 1996(1), hereby makes the following Order:—

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Reserve Forces Act 1996 (Reserve Associations) Order 2000 and shall come into force on 1st October 2000.

General Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order—
 - "the 1996 Act" means the Reserve Forces Act 1996;
 - "the Eastern Wessex Association" means the territorial, auxiliary and volunteer reserve association that, immediately before the coming into force of this Order, was established for the area that comprised—
 - (a) the counties of Buckinghamshire, Dorset, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, and Oxfordshire, and
 - (b) the non-metropolitan districts of Bournemouth, Bracknell Forest, Milton Keynes, Poole, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, Southampton, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, and Wokingham, and
 - (c) the Channel Islands;
 - "the South East Association" means the territorial, auxiliary and volunteer reserve association that is established for the area that, immediately before the coming into force of this Order, comprised—
 - (a) the counties of East Sussex, Kent, Surrey, and West Sussex, and

- (b) the non-metropolitan districts of Brighton and Hove, and the Medway Towns;
- "the Wessex Association" means the territorial, auxiliary and volunteer reserve association that is established for the area that, immediately before the coming into force of this Order, comprised—
- (a) the counties of Cornwall, Devon, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire, and
- (b) the non-metropolitan districts of Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol, the Isles of Scilly, North Somerset, Plymouth, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, and Torbay.
- (2) Any reference in this Order to a local government or administrative area is to that area as it was immediately before the coming into force of this Order.

Winding up of the Eastern Wessex Association

3. The Eastern Wessex Association is hereby wound up.

Alteration of the area of the Wessex Association

- **4.**—(1) The Defence Council hereby alters the area for which the Wessex Association is established.
 - (2) The area for which the Wessex Association is established shall henceforth comprise—
 - (a) the counties of Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire, and
 - (b) the non-metropolitan districts of Bath and North East Somerset, Bournemouth, Bristol, the Isles of Scilly, North Somerset, Plymouth, Poole, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, and Torbay.

Alteration of the area of the South East Association

- **5.**—(1) The Defence Council hereby alters the area for which the South East Association is established.
 - (2) The area for which the South East Association is established shall henceforth comprise—
 - (a) the counties of Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey and West Sussex, and
 - (b) the non-metropolitan districts of Bracknell Forest, Brighton and Hove, the Medway Towns, Milton Keynes, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, Southampton, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, and Wokingham, and
 - (c) the Channel Islands.

Transfer of property, rights and liabilities to the Wessex Association

- **6.**—(1) There is hereby transferred to and vested in the Wessex Association so much of the property, rights and liabilities as, immediately before the coming into force of this Order, were held by or on behalf of, or were vested in or incurred by or on behalf of, the Eastern Wessex Association in connection with the discharge of its activities in or in relation to any or all of the following—
 - (a) the county of Dorset, and
 - (b) the non-metropolitan districts of Bournemouth and Poole.
- (2) Any instrument shall have effect, so far as may be necessary for or in consequence of the transfer effected by paragraph (1) of this article, as if references in it to the Eastern Wessex Association (howsoever described) were references to the Wessex Association.

Transfer of property, rights and liabilities to the South East Association

- 7.—(1) There is hereby transferred to and vested in the South East Association so much of the property, rights and liabilities as, immediately before the coming into force of this Order, were held by or on behalf of, or were vested in or incurred by or on behalf of, the Eastern Wessex Association in connection with the discharge of its activities in or in relation to any or all of the following—
 - (a) the counties of Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, and Oxfordshire, and
 - (b) the non-metropolitan districts of Bracknell Forest, Milton Keynes, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, Southampton, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, and Wokingham, and
 - (c) the Channel Islands.
- (2) Any instrument shall have effect, so far as may be necessary for or in consequence of the transfer effected by paragraph (1) of this article, as if references in it to the Eastern Wessex Association (howsoever described) were references to the South East Association.

4th September 2000

Symonds of Vernham Dean

On behalf of the Defence Council.

4th September 2000

Kevin Tebbit
Members of the Defence Council

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order winds up the Eastern Wessex Association, being one of 14 existing territorial, auxiliary and reserve forces associations in the United Kingdom. The Order also alters the areas for which the existing Wessex Association and the existing South East Association are established so that they include the counties, unitary authorities and Channel Islands that formerly belonged to the Eastern Wessex Association. The Wessex Association is altered to include the county of Dorset and the non-metropolitan districts of Poole and Bournemouth. The South East Association is altered to include the counties of Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, Isle of Wight and Oxfordshire, the non-metropolitan districts of Bracknell Forest, Milton Keynes, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, Southampton, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, and Wokingham, and the Channel Islands.

The Order also makes supplemental and incidental provision, including in relation to the transfer of property, rights and liabilities.