## 2000 No. 1847

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

# The London Borough of Sutton (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Made - - - - 12th July 2000

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(a), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated January 2000 on its review of the London borough of Sutton together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(b) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

**1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Sutton (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.

- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 2nd May 2002, on 10th October 2001;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 2nd May 2002.
- (3) In this Order—

0

"borough" means the London borough of Sutton;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the London Borough of Sutton (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(c).

#### Wards of the London borough of Sutton

**2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**d**) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into eighteen wards which shall bear the names set out in the Schedule.

<sup>(</sup>a) 1992 c. 19.

<sup>(</sup>b) Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(</sup>c) S.I. 1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(</sup>d) See the London Borough of Sutton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 (S.I. 1977/1275).

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be three.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

### Revocation

0 R

3. The London Borough of Sutton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

> Beverley Hughes Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

12th July 2000

## SCHEDULE

## article 2(2)

## NAMES OF WARDS

Beddington North Beddington South Belmont Carshalton Central Carshalton South and Clockhouse Cheam Nonsuch St Helier Stonecot Sutton Central Sutton Central Sutton North Sutton North Sutton West The Wrythe Wallington North Wallington South Wandle Valley Worcester Park

**0** R

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

#### (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the London borough of Sutton. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 2nd May 2002.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 18 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names of the new wards. Each ward will be represented by 3 councillors.

Article 3 revokes the London Borough of Sutton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

The areas of the new wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Council of the London Borough of Sutton and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

## £1.50

0 R

© Crown copyright 2000

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament

E 1306 07/00 ON (MFK)