## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1999 No. 800

# NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Hartlepool and East Durham, the North Tees Health and the South Tees Community and Mental Health National Health Service Trusts (Dissolution) Order 1999

Made - - - - 15th March 1999 Coming into force - - 1st April 1999

The Secretary of State for Health, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 126(3) of the National Health Service Act 1977(1) and by section 5(1) of, and paragraph 29(1) of Schedule 2 to, the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990(2) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, considering it appropriate in the interests of the health service to make this Order(3), and after completion of the consultation prescribed under paragraph 29(3) of Schedule 2 to the latter Act(4), hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Hartlepool and East Durham, the North Tees Health and the South Tees Community and Mental Health National Health Service Trusts (Dissolution) Order 1999 and shall come into force on 1st April 1999.

#### **Dissolution of NHS trusts**

**2.**—(1) The Hartlepool and East Durham National Health Service Trust established by the Hartlepool and East Durham National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1996(**5**) shall be dissolved on 1st April 1999, and accordingly that Order revoked on that date.

<sup>(1) 1977</sup> c. 49; section 126(3) was amended by section 65(2) of the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990 (c. 19) and by paragraph 57 of Schedule 1 to the Health Authorities Act 1995 (c. 17).

<sup>(2) 1990</sup> c. 19; see also paragraph 1 of Schedule 2. Section 5(1) was amended by paragraph 69 of Schedule 1 to the Health Authorities Act 1995.

<sup>(3)</sup> See paragraph 29(2) of Schedule 2 to the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990.

<sup>(4)</sup> SeeS.I.1996/653.

<sup>(</sup>**5**) S.I. 1996/873.

- (2) The North Tees Health National Health Service Trust established by the North Tees Health National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1991(6) shall be dissolved on 1st April 1999, and accordingly that Order revoked on that date.
- (3) The South Tees Community and Mental Health National Health Service Trust established by the South Tees Community and Mental Health National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1992(7) shall be dissolved on 1st April 1999, and accordingly that Order revoked on that date.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Health

15th March 1999

John Denham Minister of State, Department of Health

<sup>(6)</sup> S.I. 1991/2377.

<sup>(7)</sup> S.I. 1992/2551.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order dissolves on 1st April 1999:-

- the Hartlepool and East Durham National Health Service Trust
- the North Tees Health National Health Service Trust, and
- the South Tees Community and Mental Health National Health Service Trust.

It should be read in conjunction with the North Tees and Hartlepool National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1999(8) and the Tees and North East Yorkshire National Health Service Trust (Establishment) Order 1999(9), which establish new acute and community NHS trusts.

<sup>(8)</sup> S.I. 1999/801.

<sup>(9)</sup> S.I. 1999/847.