## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1999 No. 3340

## **PROBATION**

The Combined Probation Areas (Bedfordshire) Order 1999

Made - - - - 9th December 1999 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Services Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Bedfordshire) Order 1999.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 1st January 2000 save that, for the purposes of making appointments to the probation committee for Bedfordshire to take effect on that date, this Order shall come into force forthwith.
- **2.** For that part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) which relates to the Bedfordshire area(**3**), there shall be substituted the following—

(1)	(2)	(3)
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of Justices on
		Probation Committee
Bedford and Mid Bedfordshire	Bedfordshire	4
Luton and South Bedfordshire		4

Home Office 9th December 1999 Paul Boateng Minister of State

<sup>(1) 1993</sup> c. 47.

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which is amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

<sup>(3)</sup> The part relating to Bedfordshire was amended by S.I. 1990/1544 and 1997/2623.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 (S.I.1986/1713) to take account of the abolition of the petty sessional divisions of Ampthill, Bedford, Biggleswade, Dunstable, Leighton Buzzard and Luton and the creation of the new petty sessional divisions of Bedford and Mid Bedfordshire and Luton and South Bedfordshire. The changes to the petty sessional divisions in question are effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Bedfordshire) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/150) which will come into force, subject to certain exceptions, on 1st January 2000.