STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 3220

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Petty Sessions Areas (Amendment) Order 1999

Made	-	-	-	-		1st December 1999
Coming	into	force	2	-	-	1st January 2000

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 4 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997(1), makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Petty Sessions Areas (Amendment) Order 1999 and shall come into force on 1st January 2000.

Petty sessions areas

- 2. In Part I of the Schedule to the Petty Sessions Areas Order 1999(2)—
 - (a) for the entries in column 1 opposite the entry "BEDFORDSHIRE" in column 2 there shall be substituted—

"Bedford and Mid Bedfordshire

Luton and South Bedfordshire"(3);

(b) for the entries in column 1 opposite the entry "ESSEX" in column 2 there shall be substituted—

"Mid-North Essex

Mid-South Essex

North-East Essex

North-West Essex

^{(1) 1997} c. 25. A new version of section 4 was substituted by section 75 of the Access to Justice Act 1999 (c. 22).

⁽²⁾ S.I.1999/3009.

⁽³⁾ These petty sessions areas were constituted by S.I. 1999/150, as amended by S.I. 1999/2466.

South-East Essex

South-West Essex"(4);

(c) for the entries in column 1 opposite the entry "KENT" in column 2 there shall be substituted—

"Canterbury and St. Augustine

Channel

Dartford and Gravesham

Faversham and Sittingbourne

Medway

Mid Kent

Thanet

West Kent"(5);

(d) for the entries in column 1 opposite the entry "STAFFORDSHIRE" in column 2 there shall be substituted—

"Burton upon Trent

Cannock and Seisdon

Lichfield and Tamworth

Mid Staffordshire and Rugeley

North Staffordshire

Stoke-on-Trent"(6);

(e) for the entries in column 1 opposite the entry "WILTSHIRE" in column 2 there shall be substituted—

"North West Wiltshire

South East Wiltshire

Swindon"(7).

⁽⁴⁾ These petty sessions areas were constituted by S.I. 1998/1353 and 1354.

⁽⁵⁾ The petty sessions area of Dartford and Gravesham was constituted by S.I. 1999/2105. The other petty sessions areas are unchanged.

⁽⁶⁾ The petty sessions areas of Cannock and Seisdon, Lichfield and Tamworth, Mid Staffordshire and Rugeley, and North Staffordshire were constituted by S.I. 1999/2399. The other petty sessions areas are unchanged.

⁽⁷⁾ The petty sessions areas of North West Wiltshire and South East Wiltshire were constituted by S.I. 1999/1500 as amended by S.I. 1999/1850. The other petty sessions area is unchanged.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by the authority of the Lord Chancellor

Dated 1st December 1999

Jane Kennedy Parliamentary Secretary Lord Chancellor's Department **Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the list of petty sessions areas in the Petty Sessions Areas Order 1999 (which was the list of petty sessions areas in existence immediately before 27th September 1999) to take account of changes that were effected by Orders made before 27th September 1999, but coming into force on 1st January 2000.