STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1999 No. 3010

# JUSTICES OF THE PEACE, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Justices of the Peace (Commission Areas) Order 1999

Made	-				3rd November 1999
Coming	g into fe	orce	-	-	1st December 1999

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 1 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997(1) and paragraph 19 of Schedule 14 to the Access to Justice Act 1999(2), makes the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

**1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Justices of the Peace (Commission Areas) Order 1999 and shall come into force on 1st December 1999.

(2) In this Order "MCC" means magistrates' courts committee.

#### **Commission areas**

**2.**—(1) Each of the areas of England outside Greater London specified in Part I of the Schedule to this Order is a commission area.

(2) Each of the areas of Wales specified in Part II of the Schedule to this Order is a commission area.

(3) Each of the areas of Greater London specified in Part III of the Schedule to this Order is a commission area.

<sup>(1) 1997</sup> c. 25. A new version of section 1 is substituted by section 74 of the Access to Justice Act 1999 (c. 22). This is the first order under the substituted section 1.

<sup>(</sup>**2**) 1999 c. 22.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by the authority of the Lord Chancellor

3rd November 1999

Jane Kennedy Parliamentary Secretary Lord Chancellor's Department

#### SCHEDULE

### Part I

### Commission areas in England outside Greater London

Name of commission area	Extent of commission area		
Avon	The area of Avon MCC		
Bedfordshire	The area of Bedfordshire MCC		
Berkshire	The part of the area of Thames Valley MCC comprising the following local government areas: Bracknell Forest Borough District Council Newbury District Council Reading Borough Council Slough Borough Council Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Wokingham District Council		
Buckinghamshire	The part of the area of Thames Valley MCC comprising the following local government areas: Buckinghamshire County Council Milton Keynes Borough Council		
Cambridgeshire	The area of Cambridgeshire MCC		
Cheshire	The area of Cheshire MCC		
Cleveland	The area of Cleveland MCC		
Cornwall	The part of the area of Devon and Cornwall MCC comprising the following local government areas: Cornwall County Council Isles of Scilly Council		
Cumbria	The area of Cumbria MCC		
Derbyshire	The area of Derbyshire MCC		
Devon	The part of the area of Devon and Cornwall MCC comprising the following local government areas: Devon County Council Plymouth City Council Torbay Council		
Dorset	The area of Dorset MCC		
Durham	The area of Durham MCC		

Document Generated: 2023-06-30 Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Name of commission area	Extent of commission area		
Essex	The area of Essex MCC		
Gloucestershire	The area of Gloucestershire MCC		
Greater Manchester	The areas of the following MCCs: Manchester North and West Greater Manchester Oldham Stockport Tameside Trafford		
Hampshire	The area of Hampshire MCC		
Hereford and Worcester	The area of Hereford and Worcester MCC		
Hertfordshire	The area of Hertfordshire MCC		
Humberside	The area of Humberside MCC		
Isle of Wight	The area of Isle of Wight MCC		
Kent	The area of Kent MCC		
Lancashire	The area of Lancashire MCC		
Leicestershire	The area of Leicestershire MCC		
Lincolnshire	The area of Lincolnshire MCC		
Merseyside	The area of Merseyside MCC		
Norfolk	The area of Norfolk MCC		
Northamptonshire	The area of Northamptonshire MCC		
Northumberland	The area of Northumberland MCC		
North Yorkshire	The area of North Yorkshire MCC		
Nottinghamshire	The area of Nottinghamshire MCC		
Oxfordshire	The part of the area of Thames Valley MCC comprising the local government area of Oxfordshire County Council		
Shropshire	The area of Shropshire MCC		
Somerset	The area of Somerset MCC		
South Yorkshire	The areas of the following MCCs: Barnsley Doncaster Rotherham Sheffield		
Staffordshire	The area of Staffordshire MCC		
Suffolk	The area of Suffolk MCC		
Surrey	The area of Surrey MCC		
Tyne and Wear	The areas of the following MCCs: Gateshead		

Name of commission area	Extent of commission area
	Newcastle upon Tyne
	North Tyneside
	South Tyneside
	Sunderland
Warwickshire	The area of Warwickshire MCC
West Midlands	The area of West Midlands MCC
West Yorkshire	The areas of the following MCCs: Calderdale Leeds West Riding
West Sussex	The area of West Sussex MCC
Wiltshire	The area of Wiltshire MCC

# Part II

### **Commission areas in Wales**

Name of commission area	Extent of commission area
Clwyd	The part of the area of North Wales MCC comprising the following local government areas: Denbighshire County Council Flintshire County Council Wrexham County Borough County Council That part of Conwy County Borough Council which was formerly known as Colwyn Borough Council
Dyfed	The area of Dyfed MCC
Gwent	The area of Gwent MCC
Gwynedd	The part of North Wales MCC comprising the following local government areas: Isle of Anglesey County Council Gwynedd County Council That part of Conwy County Borough Council which was formerly known as Aberconwy Borough Council
Powys	The area of Powys MCC
South Wales	The area of South Wales MCC
West Glamorgan	The area of West Glamorgan MCC

## Part III

### **Commission areas in Greater London**

Name of commission area	Extent of commission area
City of London	The area of the City of London MCC
Inner London	The area of Inner London MCC
Middlesex	The area of Barnet MCC
	The area of Brent MCC
	The area of Ealing MCC
	The area of Enfield MCC
	The area of Haringey MCC
	The area of Harrow MCC
	The area of Hillingdon MCC
	The area of Hounslow MCC
North East Greater London	The area of Barking and Dagenham MCC
	The area of Havering MCC
	The area of Newham MCC
	The area of Redbridge MCC
	The area of Waltham Forest MCC
South East Greater London	The area of Bexley MCC
	The area of Bromley MCC
	The area of Croydon MCC
South West Greater London	The area of Kingston upon Thames MCC
	The area of Merton MCC
	The area of Richmond upon Thames MCC
	The area of Sutton MCC

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This is the first order under section 1 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997 as substituted by section 74 of the Access to Justice Act 1999. It specifies the commission areas for England and Wales. Each of the areas was a commission area immediately before section 74 came into force.