STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 3008

MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Magistrates' Courts Committee Areas Order 1999

Made - - - - 3rd November 1999

Coming into force - - 1st December 1999

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 27A(2) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997() and paragraph 29 of Schedule 14 to the Access to Justice Act 1999(), makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Magistrates' Courts Committee Areas Order 1999 and shall come into force on 1st December 1999.

Magistrates' courts committee areas

- 2.—(1) Each of the magistrates' courts committees in England outside Greater London specified in column 1 of Part I of the Schedule to this Order comprises the local government areas set out opposite the name of that committee in column 2 of Part I of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each of the magistrates' courts committees in Wales specified in column 1 of Part II of the Schedule to this Order comprises the local government areas set out opposite the name of that committee in column 2 of Part II of the Schedule to this Order.

Signed by the authority of the Lord Chancellor

Jane Kennedy
Parliamentary Secretary
Lord Chancellor's Department

3rd November 1999

⁽a) 1997 c. 25. Section 27A(2) is inserted into the Justices of the Peace Act 1997 by section 81 of the Access to Justice Act 1999 (c. 22). This is the first order under section 27A(2).

⁽b) 1999 c. 22.

12-11-99 13:16:48 PPSysB

Unit: pag1

 $\label{eq:Article 2} \textbf{Part I Magistrates' courts committee areas in England outside Greater London}$

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
Avon	Bath and North East Somerset Council Bristol City Council North Somerset Council South Gloucestershire Council
Barnsley	Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
Bedfordshire	Bedfordshire County Council Luton Borough Council
Calderdale	Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council
Cambridgeshire	Cambridgeshire County Council Peterborough City Borough Council
Cheshire	Cheshire County Council Halton Borough Council Warrington Council
Cleveland	Hartlepool Borough Council Middlesbrough Council Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council Stockton on Tees Borough Council
Cumbria	Cumbria County Council
Derbyshire	Derbyshire County Council Derby City Council
Devon and Cornwall	Cornwall County Council Devon County Council Plymouth City Council Torbay Council Isle of Scilly Council
Doncaster	Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council
Dorset	Dorset County Council Bournemouth Borough Council Poole Borough Council
Durham	Durham County Council Darlington Borough Council
East Sussex	East Sussex County Council Brighton and Hove Borough Council
Essex	Essex County Council Southend-on-Sea Borough Council Thurrock Borough Council
Gateshead	Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council
Gloucestershire	Gloucestershire County Council
Hampshire	Hampshire County Council Portsmouth City Council Southampton City Council
Hereford and Worcester	Worcestershire County Council County of Herefordshire District Council
Hertfordshire	Hertfordshire County Council
Humberside	East Riding of Yorkshire Council Kingston-upon-Hull City Council North East Lincolnshire Council North Lincolnshire Council
Isle of Wight	Isle of Wight County Council

12-11-99 13:16:48

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
Kent	Kent County Council Medway Towns District Council
Lancashire	Lancashire County Council Blackburn with Darwen Council Blackpool Borough Council
Leeds	Leeds City Council
Leicestershire	Leicestershire County Council Leicester City Council Rutland County District Council
Lincolnshire	Lincolnshire County Council
Manchester	Manchester City Council
Merseyside	Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council Liverpool City Council Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council St. Helens Metropolitan Borough Council Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council
Newcastle upon Tyne	Newcastle upon Tyne City Council
Norfolk	Norfolk County Council
Northamptonshire	Northamptonshire County Council
Northumberland	Northumberland County Council
North and West Greater Manchester	Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council Bury Metropolitan Borough Council Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council City of Salford Metropolitan Borough Council Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council
North Tyneside	North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council
North Yorkshire	North Yorkshire County Council City of York Council
Nottinghamshire	Nottinghamshire County Council Nottingham City Council
Oldham	Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
Rotherham	Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council
Sheffield	City of Sheffield Metropolitan Borough Council
Shropshire	Shropshire County Council Telford and Wrekin Council
Somerset	Somerset County Council
South Tyneside	South Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council
Staffordshire	Staffordshire County Council Stoke-on-Trent City Council
Stockport	Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council
Suffolk	Suffolk County Council
Sunderland	Sunderland City Council
Surrey	Surrey County Council
Tameside	Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council
Thames Valley	Oxfordshire County Council Bracknell Forest Borough District Council Newbury District Council Reading Borough Council Slough Borough Council Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead Wokingham District Council Buckinghamshire County Council Milton Keynes Borough Council
Trafford	Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
Warwickshire	Warwickshire County Council
West Midlands	Birmingham City Council Coventry City Council Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council Wolverhampton Metropolitan Borough Council
West Riding	Bradford City Council Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council Wakefield City Council
West Sussex	West Sussex County Council
Wiltshire	Wiltshsire County Council Swindon Borough Council

Part II Magistrates' courts committee areas in Wales

Column 1 Name of committee	Column 2 Local government areas
Dyfed	Carmarthenshire County Council Pembrokeshire County Council Ceredigion County Council
Gwent	Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council Caerphilly County Borough Council Monmouthshire County Council Newport County Borough Council Torfaen County Borough Council
North Wales	Isle of Anglesey County Council Denbighshire County Council Flintshire County Council Gwynedd County Council Wrexham County Borough Council Conwy County Borough Council
Powys	Powys County Council
South Wales	Bridgend County Borough Council Cardiff City and County Council Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council Rhondda Cynon Taff County Borough Council Vale of Glamorgan County Borough Council
West Glamorgan	Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council City and County of Swansea Council

Unit: pag1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This is the first order under section 27A(2) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1997, inserted by section 81 of the Access to Justice Act 1999. It specifies the magistrates' courts committee areas for England outside Greater London and Wales. Each of the areas was a magistrates' courts committee area immediately before section 81 came into force.

$S\ T\ A\ T\ U\ T\ O\ R\ Y\quad I\ N\ S\ T\ R\ U\ M\ E\ N\ T\ S$

1999 No. 3008

MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Magistrates' Courts Committee Areas Order 1999

£2.00

© Crown copyright 1999

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament. WO 5682 11/99 453444

