STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 2697

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

Made - - - - 27th September 1999

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1998 on its review of the district of South Derbyshire together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
 - (3) In this Order—

"district" means the district of South Derbyshire;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3); and

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of South Derbyshire

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(4) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into seventeen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Elvaston

- **3.**—(1) The parish of Elvaston shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names Elvaston Boulton Moor and Elvaston Rural; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the Elvaston Boulton Moor parish ward shall be three and for the Elvaston Rural parish ward shall be six.

Wards of the parish of Hatton

- **4.**—(1) The parish of Hatton shall be divided into seven parish wards which shall bear the names Central, Heathway, Hoon, North, School, South and Yew Tree; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 5 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Central and School parish wards shall be two and for each of the Heathway, Hoon, North, South and Yew Tree parish wards shall be one.

Numbers of parish councillors

5. The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish of Stenson Fields shall be eleven.

Revocation

6. The District of South Derbyshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions.

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

27th September 1999

SCHEDULE Article 2 NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Description of area	Number of Councillors
Aston	The parishes of Aston upon Trent, Barrow upon Trent, Elvaston, Shardlow and Great Wilne, Swarkestone and Weston upon Trent	3
Church Gresley		2
Etwall	The parishes of Ash, Bearwardcote, Burnaston, Egginton, Etwall and Radbourne	2
Hartshorne and Ticknall	The parishes of Calke, Hartshorne, Smisby and Ticknall	2
Hatton		1
Hilton	The parishes of Hilton and Marston on Dove	2
Linton	The parishes of Castle Gresley, Cauldwell, Drakelow, Linton and Rosliston	2
Melbourne	The parish of Melbourne	2
Midway		3
Newhall and Stanton		3
North West		1
Repton	The parishes of Bretby, Foremark, Ingleby, Newton Solney, Repton and Stanton by Bridge	2
Seales	The parishes of Catton, Coton in the Elms, Lullington, Netherseal, Overseal and Walton upon Trent	2
Stenson	The parishes of Stenson Fields and Twyford and Stenson	2
Swadlincote		3
Willington and Findern	The parishes of Findern and Willington	2
Woodville		2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of South Derbyshire. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 17 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 and 4 make electoral changes in the parishes of Elvaston and Hatton.

Article 5 makes provision for the number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Stenson Fields.

Article 6 revokes the District of South Derbyshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of South Derbyshire District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.