STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 2583

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Teesdale (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

Made - - - - 7th September 1999

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated October 1998 on its review of the district of Teesdale together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Teesdale (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to elections to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order-

"district" means the district of Teesdale;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Teesdale (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of Teesdale

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(4) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into nineteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the parish of Barnard Castle

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Barnard Castle shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Barnard Castle East, Barnard Castle North and Barnard Castle West; the parish wards of Barnard Castle East and Barnard Castle West shall be coterminous with the district wards of the same name and the Barnard Castle North parish ward shall consist of the rest of the parish.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Barnard Castle East parish ward shall be four, for the Barnard Castle North parish ward shall be three and for the Barnard Castle West parish ward shall be five.

Wards of the parish of Evenwood and Barony

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Evenwood and Barony shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names Evenwood, Lands, Ramshaw, Toft Hill and Witton; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 8 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Evenwood parish ward shall be six, for each of the Lands and Ramshaw parish wards shall be three, for the Witton parish ward shall be two and for the Toft Hill parish ward shall be one.

Wards of the parish of Marwood

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Marwood shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Revocation

6. The District of Teesdale (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979 is hereby revoked.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

7th September 1999

SCHEDULE 1 Article 2 NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward Barnard Castle East	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors 2
Barnard Castle North		2
Barnard Castle West		3
	The perighes of Derforth	
Barningham and Ovington	The parishes of Barforth, Barningham, Hope, Hutton Magna, Ovington, Scargill and Wycliffe with Thorpe	1
Cockfield	The parish of Cockfield	2
Cotherstone with Lartington	The parishes of Cotherstone and Lartington	1
Eggleston		1
Etherley		3
Evenwood, Ramshaw and Lands		3
Gainford and Winston	The parishes of Gainford and Winston	2
Greta	The parishes of Boldron, Bowes, Brignall, Egglestone Abbey, Gilmonby and Rokeby	1
Hamsterley and South Bedburn		1
Ingleton	The parishes of Bolam, Headlam, Hilton, Ingleton, Langton, Morton Tinmouth and Wackerfield	1
Lynesack		2
Middleton-in-Teesdale	The parishes of Forest & Frith, Middleton-in-Teesdale and Newbiggin	2
Romaldkirk	The parishes of Holwick, Hunderthwaite, Lunedale, Mickleton and Romaldkirk	1
Staindrop	The parishes of Cleatlam, Langleydale & Shotton, Raby with Keverstone and Staindrop	2
Startforth	The parish of Startforth	1
Streatlam and Whorlton		1

SCHEDULE 2

Article 5

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF MARWOOD: NAMES, AREAS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of Ward	(2) Area of Ward	(3) Number of Councillors
The Oval	So much of the district ward of Streatlam and Whorlton as comprises the parish of Marwood	1
Rural	So much of the district ward of Eggleston as comprises the parish of Marwood	4
Urban	So much of the district ward of Barnard Castle North as comprises the parish of Marwood	2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Teesdale. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 19 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 to 5 make electoral changes in the parishes of Barnard Castle, Evenwood and Barony, and Marwood.

Article 6 revokes the District of Teesdale (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1979.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Teesdale District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.