#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

#### 1999 No. 2472

### LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Torridge (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

*Made - - - - 6th September 1999* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated January 1999 on its review of the district of Torridge together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Torridge (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"the district" means the district of Torridge;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Torridge (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3).

**<sup>1</sup>**) 1992 c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(3)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

#### Wards of Torridge

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(**4**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-three wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, parish wards, parishes and parish wards or parishes and area or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Bideford

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Bideford shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Wards of the parish of Northam

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Northam shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Appledore, Northam, Orchard Hill and Westward Ho! and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the ward of the district bearing the same name.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Appledore parish ward shall be four; the number or councillors to be elected for the Northam parish ward shall be six and the number of councillors to be elected for each of the Orchard Hill and Westward Ho! parish wards shall be two.

#### Revocation

**5.** The District of Torridge (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

6th September 1999

# SCHEDULE 1 Article 2 NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of ward	(2) Description of area	(3) Number of councillors
Appledore	<i>Σενοι ιριίσα ο</i> η απέα	2
Bideford East	The parishes of Alverdiscott, Huntshaw and Weare Giffard and the Bideford East parish ward of the parish of Bideford	3
Bideford North	The Bideford North parish ward of the parish of Bideford	3
Bideford South		3
Broadheath	The parishes of Broadwoodwidger, Clawton, Luffincott, Northcott, Tetcott and St Giles on the Heath	1
Clinton	The parishes of Buckland Filleigh, Huish, Little Torrington, Merton, Peters Marland and Petrockstow	1
Clovelly Bay	The parishes of Clovelly and Woolfardisworthy and the area of Lundy Island	1
Coham Bridge	The parishes of Black Torrington, Bradford, Cookbury, Sheepwash and Thornbury	1
Forest	The parishes of Ashwater, Halwill and Virginstow	1
Hartland and Bradworthy	The parishes of Bradworthy, Hartland and Welcombe	2
Holsworthy	The parishes of Hollacombe, Holsworthy, Holsworthy Hamlets and Sutcombe	2
Kenwith	The parishes of Abbotsham, Alwington and Parkham	1
Monkleigh and Littleham		1
Northam		3
Orchard Hill	The Orchard Hill parish ward of the parish of Northam	1
Shebbear and Langtree	The parishes of Langtree, Newton St Petrock and Shebbear	1
	2	

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Description of area	Number of councillors
Tamarside	The parishes of Bridgerule, Pancrasweek and Pyworthy	1
Three Moors	The parishes of Beaford, Dolton, Dowland and Roborough	1
Torrington	The parish of Great Torrington	3
Two Rivers	The parishes of High Bickington, St Giles in the Wood and Yarnscombe	1
Waldon	The parishes of Abbots Bickington, Buckland Brewer, Bulkworthy, East Putford, Milton Damerel and West Putford	1
Westward Ho!	The Westward Ho! parish ward of the parish of Northam	1
Winkleigh	The parishes of Ashreigney and Winkleigh	1

#### SCHEDULE 2

Article 3

## WARDS OF THE PARISH OF BIDEFORD NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Description of area	Number of councillors
Bideford East	So much of the district ward of Bideford East as comprises the parish of Bideford	5
Bideford North	The district ward of Bideford North	5
Bideford Outer	So much of the district ward of Monkleigh and Littleham as comprises of the parish of Bideford	1
Bideford South	The district ward of Bideford South	5

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Torridge. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 23 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 and Schedule 2 make electoral changes in the parish of Bideford.

Article 4 makes electoral changes in the parish of Northam.

Article 5 revokes the District of Torridge (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

The areas of the new district wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Torridge District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.