STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 1609

The Magistrates' Courts Committees (West Glamorgan and South Wales) Amalgamation Order 1999

1. This Order may be cited as the Magistrates' Courts Committees (West Glamorgan and South Wales) Amalgamation Order 1999 and shall come into force for the purposes of articles 2 and 4 on 1st April 2000 and for all other purposes on 30th June 1999.

2. The magistrates' courts committees for the preserved counties of West Glamorgan and South Wales shall be abolished.

3. There shall be constituted as a body corporate a new magistrates' courts committee which shall be known as the South Wales magistrates' courts committee (or in Welsh as Pwyllgor Llysoedd Ynadon De Cymru).

4. The area of the West Glamorgan and South Wales magistrates' courts committee shall consist of the preserved counties of West Glamorgan, Mid Glamorgan and South Glamorgan, excluding so much of the county borough of Caerphilly as falls within the preserved county of Mid Glamorgan.

5. The transitional and consequential provisions set out in the Schedule to this Order shall have effect in connection with the provisions of articles 2 and 3 of this Order.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

Dated 8th June 1999

Keith Vaz Parliamentary Secretary Lord Chancellor's Department