STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3264

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (North Wales) Order 1998

Made - - - - 22nd December

1998

Coming into force - - 1st January 1999

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Service Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (North Wales) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 1st January 1999.
- **2.** For that part of the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) which relates to the North Wales Probation Area(**3**) there shall be substituted the following:

(1)	(2)	(3)
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of justices on
		probation committee
Aberconwy	North Wales	1
Arfon		1
Colwyn		1
Denbighshire		1
Dwyfor		1
Flintshire		2
Meirionnydd		1
Wrexham Maelor		2
Ynys Môn/Anglesey		1

^{(1) 1993} c. 47

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which was amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

⁽³⁾ The part relating to North Wales was amended by S.I. 1992/336, 1995/2553 and 1997/3052.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Home Office 22nd December 1998 Paul Boateng Minister of State Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 (S.I.1986/1713) to reduce from seventeen to eleven the number of justices appointed to the North Wales Probation Committee consequent on the re-organisation of the petty sessions areas in North Wales. Berwyn, Colwyn, Dyffryn Clwyd, Rhuddlan and Wrexham Maelor are re-organised into the new petty sessions areas of Colwyn, Denbighshire and Wrexham Maelor. The re-organisation is effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (North Wales) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2339), the relevant provisions of which come into force on 1st January 1999.

This Order also designates Eiffonydd and Pwllheli as the Dwyfor petty sessions area consequent on the change of name made by the Petty Sessional Divisions (North Wales) (No. 2) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2340), which comes into force on 1st January 1999.