STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3261

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

WALES

The City and County of Swansea(Electoral Arrangements) (No. 2) Order 1998

Made - - - 18th December 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of his powers under sections 58(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him in November 1996 under sections 58(1) and 64 of that Act(2) by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the City and County of Swansea (Electoral Arrangements) (No. 2) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1999 except that for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force immediately.

Electoral divisions

- 2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the City and County of Swansea shall be abolished and the City and County shall be divided into 36 electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified opposite thereto in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified opposite thereto in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

^{(1) 1972} c. 70; Section 67(5) was amended by section 40(1) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29), article 3(a) of the Local Government Act (References to Aldermen) Order 1977, S.I.1977/1710 and section 66(5) and (8) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 15, and Schedule 18 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

⁽²⁾ Section 58(1) was amended by section 66(5) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 11 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. Section 64 was substituted by section 6 to that Act of 1994.

Register of local government electors

3. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Revocation

4. The County of Swansea (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998(**3**) is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Jon Owen Jones
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Welsh
Office

18th December 1998

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Bishopston	The Community of Bishopston	1
Bonymaen	The Community of Bonymaen	2
Castle	The Community of Castle	4
Clydach	The Community of Clydach	2
Cockett	The Community of Cockett	4
Cwmbwrla	The Community of Cwmbwrla	3
Dunvant	The Community of Dunvant	2
Fairwood	The Community of Upper Killay and the Three Crosses ward of the Community of Llanrhidian Higher	1
Gorseinon	The Gorseinon Central and Gorseinon East wards of the Community of Gorseinon	1
Gower	The Communities of Ilston, Llangennith, Llanmadoc and Cheriton, Llanrhidian Lower, Penrice, Port Eynon, Reynoldston and Rhossili	1
Gowerton	The Community of Gowerton	1
Killay North	The North ward of the Community of Killay	1
Killay South	The South and West wards of the Community of Killay	1
Kingsbridge	The Garden Village and Kingsbridge wards of the Community of Llwchwr	1
Landore	The Community of Landore	2
Llangyfelach	The Communities of Llangyfelach and Pont-Lliw	1
Llansamlet	The Communities of Birchgrove and Llansamlet	4
Lower Loughor	The Lower Loughor ward of the Community of Llwchwr	1
Mawr	The Community of Mawr	1

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Mayals	The Mayals ward of the Community of Mumbles	1
Morriston	The Community of Morriston	5
Mynyddbach	The Community of Mynyddbach	3
Newton	The Newton ward of the Community of Mumbles	1
Oystermouth	The Oystermouth ward of the Community of Mumbles	1
Penclawdd	The Llanmorlais and Penclawdd wards of the Community of Llanrhidian Higher	1
Penderry	The Community of Penderry	3
Penllergaer	The Community of Penllergaer	1
Pennard	The Community of Pennard	1
Penyrheol	The Community of Grovesend and the Gorseinon West and Penyrheol wards of the Community of Gorseinon	2
Pontardulais	The Community of Pontardulais	2
Sketty	The Community of Sketty	5
St. Thomas	The Community of St. Thomas	2
Townhill	The Community of Townhill	3
Uplands	The Community of Uplands	4
Upper Loughor	The Upper Loughor ward of the Community of Llwchwr	1
West Cross	The West Cross ward of the Community of Mumbles	2