STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3142

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES WALES

The County Borough of Wrexham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998

Made - - - 23rd November 1998 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of his powers under sections 58(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him in May 1997 under sections 58(1) and 64 of that Act(2) by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County Borough of Wrexham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998.

(2) This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1999 except that for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force immediately.

Electoral divisions

2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County Borough of Wrexham shall be abolished and the County Borough shall be divided into 47 electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified opposite thereto in column (2) of that Schedule.

(2) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified opposite thereto in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

 ¹⁹⁷² c. 70. Section 67(5) was amended by section 40(1) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29), article 3(a) of the Government Act (References to Aldermen) Order 1977, S.I.1977/1710 and section 66(5) and (8) of, Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 15, and Schedule 18 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

⁽²⁾ Section 58(1) was amended by section 66(5) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 11 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. Section 64 was substituted by section 6 to that Act of 1994.

Register of local government electors

3. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Jon Owen Jones Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Welsh Office

23rd November 1998

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Electoral Division	Area of New Electoral Division	Number of Councillors
Acton	The Acton Central and Acton Park wards of the Community of Acton	1
Borras Park	The Borras Park ward of the Community of Acton	1
Bronington	The Communities of Bangor Is-y-Coed, Bronington and Willington Worthenbury	1
Brymbo	The Brymbo and Vron wards of the Community of Brymbo	1
Brynyffynnon	The Brynyffynnon ward of the Community of Offa	1
Bryn Cefn	The Bryn Cefn ward of the Community of Broughton	1
Cartrefle	The Cartrefle ward of the Community of Caia Park	1
Cefn	The Acrefair and Penybryn, Cefn and Rhosymedre and Cefn Bychan wards of the Community of Cefn	2
Dyffryn Ceiriog/Ceiriog Valley	The Communities of Ceiriog Ucha, Glyntraian and Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog	1
Chirk North	The North ward of the Community of Chirk	1
Chirk South	The South ward of the Community of Chirk	1
Coedpoeth	The Community of Coedpoeth	2
Erddig	The Erddig ward of the Community of Offa	1
Esclusham	The Bersham and Rhostyllen wards of the Community of Esclusham	1
Garden Village	The Garden Village ward of the Community of Rhosddu	1
Gresford East and West	The East and West wards of the Community of Gresford	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Grosvenor	The Grosvenor ward of the Community of Rhosddu	1
Gwenfro	The Gwenfro ward of the Community of Broughton	1
Gwersyllt East and South	The East and South wards of the Community of Gwersyllt	2
Gwersyllt North	The North ward of the Community of Gwersyllt	1
Gwersyllt West	The West ward of the Community of Gwersyllt	1
Hermitage	The Hermitage ward of the Community of Offa	1
Holt	The Communities of Abenbury, Holt and Isycoed	1
Johnstown	The Johnstown ward of the Community of Rhosllanerchrugog	1
Little Acton	The Little Acton ward of the Community of Acton	1
Llangollen Rural	The Community of Llangollen Rural	1
Llay	The Community of Llay	2
Maesydre	The Maesydre ward of the Community of Acton	1
Marchwiel	The Communities of Erbistock, Marchwiel and Sesswick	1
Marford and Hoseley	The Marford and Hoseley ward of the Community of Gresford	1
Minera	The Community of Minera and the Bwlchgwyn ward of the Community of Brymbo	1
New Broughton	The Brynteg and New Broughton wards of the Community of Broughton	1
Offa	The Offa ward of the Community of Offa	1
Overton	The Communities of Hanmer, Maelor South and Overton	1

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Pant	The Pant ward of the Community of Rhosllanerchrugog	1
Penycae	The Eitha ward of the Community of Penycae	1
Penycae and Ruabon South	The Groes ward of the Community of Penycae and the South ward of the Community of Ruabon	1
Plas Madoc	The Plas Madoc ward of the Community of Cefn	1
Ponciau	The Ponciau North, Ponciau South and Rhos wards of the Community of Rhosllanerchrugog and the Aberoer and Pentrebychan wards of the Community of Esclusham	2
Queensway	The Queensway ward of the Community of Caia Park	1
Rhosnesni	The Rhosnesni ward of the Community of Acton	1
Rossett	The Community of Rossett	1
Ruabon	The North ward of the Community of Ruabon	1
Smithfield	The Smithfield ward of the Community of Caia Park	1
Stansty	The Stansty ward of the Community of Rhosddu	1
Whitegate	The Whitegate ward of the Community of Caia Park	1
Wynnstay	The Wynnstay ward of the Community of Caia Park	1